Show Me A Photo Round 10 - My Morning Friend and Visitor

Hello Feathered Friends. We are now in Round 10 of this wonderful challenge. And for this Round the challenge is:

Show Me A Photo of a Bird's Beak / Bill.

Let us all join in and show us your best Beak or Bill pictures. If you want to know more about this contest check on the link here. Thanks to @nelinoeva for hosting this contest and to our gracious and ever-supporting sponsors Feathered Friends Community and @melinda010100. Our judge for this round will be @oks2crypto.

So without further ado let us begin.

On a recent post, as in very recent that being my post just before this one, I featured a feathered visitor to our garden everytime I water the plants in the morning. He is one happy bird, flitting and darting across the plants as they are watered. I would know when he is around because of his tweeting and chirping.

IMG_20210309_144119.jpg

He used to be very wary of me. He would immediately fly up to the electric wires whenever I go near him and would stay up there until I move away. That's why most of my pictures were from far away. However, as time went by, he probably got used to me and felt I was not a threat to him. Recently I noticed that he doesn't fly away at once when I approach her. In fact I was now able to photograph her from a much closer distance. She would perch on a branch much longer and making it possible to take a video of him preening and drying his wings from my watering the plants.

IMG_20210311_034951.jpg
I found out that my morning visitor and new found friend is an Olive-Backed Sun Bird. And she happens to be a female. The male ones usually have a blue colored streak along his throat. I think I was also able to get a photo of her mate, who probably got emboldened with her being friendly with me and didn't seem to mind my nearness.

IMG20210224113928.jpg

Now I look forward to our playful mornings, me watering not only the plants but her as well, and she getting to have her morning baths with her mate. My daughter said these sun birds are monogamous so I guess there's only one male in the vicinity too. Here's a photo of them playing together under the staghorn ferns.

IMG_20210307_132128.jpg

For this Round my submission is a crop of the second photo showing my friend's interesting beak, which is long, thin and hooked. See photo below.

IMG_20210311_040329.jpg

And that's it for this Round. Thank you for visiting and I wish you all the best with all your entries, which so far as I have seen, are all awesome and fantastic. Good work everyone. Stay safe and until next week, au revoir.

(All photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @gems.and.cookies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks for tracking. You deserve an upvote.

You're welcome @gems.and.cookies, thanks to you for your motivation and your participation on this platform! 😊
BTW, support us back and vote for our witness.
You will get one more badge and more powerful upvotes from us on your posts with your next notifications.

How nice to have such visitors when watering the plants.
And they do have fantastic beaks.

You said it Neli. She brings a lot of joy every morning. Yes the beak looks quite interesting. Thanks.

sunbirds are very nice to have around. where are you located?

I'm from the Philippines. And you?

i normally live 7 months in norway and 5 months in india but this year only norway. i was in the philippines years ago. very nice country and people, always want to go back just don't know when