Show Me A Photo (SMaP) Round 40 - The Pelican Breed

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

Hello Feathered Friends. It is Round 40 of this fun contest SMaP, which stands for Show Me A Picture, hosted by @nelinoeva. The contest post can be found here in case you would like to know more about it. Hope you can join us with your friends too. It's fun!

This week's theme is

BIRD/S and PEOPLE


My daughter recently was in Peine, Germany to visit and spend a week with her cousin who works there. While she was there, she took the occasion to visit Hanover, a city about 40 kilometers away.

Hanover is the capital and largest city of the German state of Lower Saxony. Its 535,061 inhabitants make it the 13th-largest city in Germany as well as the third-largest city in Northern Germany after Hamburg and Bremen. Wikipedia

She sent us photos of her stay there, including their visit to Hanover. One of the sites she went to in Hanover was the zoo. And would you believe, while at the zoo, she sent a picture that fits our theme in SMaP perfectly? Check it out.

IMG_20211013_005942.jpg

I know pelicans are big birds. But I was surprised to see just how big they are. I haven't seen one in person and most pictures I've seen of them are without any people nearby. Look at those big and round bodies. It made me really wonder how they can even fly.

Here's a crop of the photo above showing just the lady in white. This is also my entry photo to the contest.

IMG_20211013_025736.jpg

And another crop of the same photo, this time showing only my daughter.

IMG_20211013_010236.jpg

And that's it for this post. Many thanks to my daughter for allowing me to use the photo for the SMAP. I actually had a photo entry from my archive. An old and oft used one when the theme calls for it. I am showing it below. Some of you may even remember this. Feeding the pigeons.

image.png

Many thanks to our sponsors The Feathered Friends Community and @melinda010100. Keep safe everyone and a huge good luck to all participants.

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Thank you so much for this gesture. Greatly appreciated 🤗🤗🤗

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
13

How wonderful to have the right image for this round!
Oh, look at them, not afraid from the people and ready to pinch something.😀
Pelicans are huge and when they fly, they are unbelievably graceful.

I'd say the timing was just perfect. It was just like out of the blue and bang. Just what the doctor ordered 😄

It would be an awesome sight to witness these big birds from takeoff to flight to cruising speed. They are so huge, I did not realize!

I saw pelicans in our zoo too. They looked funny with these big feet. But when I saw them in the sky, oh my, they changed completely.