SMAP 154 - An Ancient And Special Art Form

Hello Feathered Friends Community. Great to be back here in this challenge, the Show Me A Picture or SMAP Round 154, hosted by @nelinoeva. The link to the contest post can be found here. Simply click on it and hopefully you can join in the fun.

The theme for this week is:

FREE THEME


There is an art exhibit ongoing now at a famous art gallery in our city. You know, the nicest thing about these exhibits, at least for me, is the anticipation of discovering something unique that stands out among all the objet d'art on display and actually finding it. This one did not disappoint. The photo below shows this.

1000000314.jpg

At first glance, these white round objects look like white balloons or globes or even round table lamps with artistic designs. A closer look reveals an art form, which I just found out, have been uncovered as far back as 5,000 years ago. In fact the British Museum has on display this particular art dating back to that date. The art? Painted Ostrich Eggs.

1000000320.jpg

I was surprised and actually exhilarated when I noticed that the subject of the artist for painting on the ostrich eggs is none other than the national bird of our country, the Philippine Eagle.

1000000316.jpg

1000000315.jpg

I have, in earlier posts, featured various art forms of the Philippine Eagle (which replaced the Red Munia as the Philippines' national bird) during SMAP Free Themes. This is because I do not have an actual photo of the real one. And now, SMAP is again on Free Theme mode and I discover a unique art form of which the subject is a Feathered Friend, and a favorite of mine as well. Irish luck as they say. Perfect timing!

There was one thing that bothered me though. I was wondering where the artist got the eggs she used as her medium. It's not like you get to see ostrich eggs on display at the regular supermarkets around town. I did some research and found out that there is an outfit here in our city that sells this. It's called Davao Farmville and has an FB page. Photo below is a screenshot of one of its Facebook posts.

1000000323.jpg

So that's one question answered. The other thing that had me wondering are these photos below.

1000000319.jpg

1000000317.jpg

The first one shows an eagle with a plastic rope, we call this "tie back" here, wrapped around its beak. The second shows a very sad eagle that looks like it's about to cry. I finally deduced that since the Philippine Eagle is an endangered specie, the artist wanted to depict its current state by one, showing it muzzled out which symbolizes captivity and two, their sad fate that they are still being hunted down despite the government's efforts to stop it.

Well anyway, since I was not able to talk to the artist my explanations above are just my interpretation of her art. And they are expensive at Philippine Peso 30,000 or about US Dollar 600 apiece. I would like to buy one. Would you?

For my entry I am submitting the photo below.

1000000324.jpg

And that's it folks. I hope you enjoyed the show which I really did. Wishing you all a blessed and safe week. Until the next one.

Sort:  

Excellent photos and a unique find for this week's free theme. Eagles painted on huge ostrich eggs works.

Save up your Hive to buy one!😊 @gems.and.cookies

Hi @ninahaskin. Thank you for your very inspiring words. It is indeed a unique find and one that I was very fortunate to discover and share.

Haha when Hive moons I will definitely buy one 😊

I like your positive outlook saying "when" not "if" Hive moons!😊 @gems.and.cookies

It will moon @ninahaskin. Just a question of when. That I am sure of. No ifs about it. 😄

Yes, we will manifest!❤

Btw, I just remembered your love for cats. If my memory serves me right you might be interested to look into this click here if you have time. It's basically an update about cats at home 😊

Raise awareness for the endangered!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great post and great artist and amazing art!
Upvoted and shared :D

Thanks a lot 😊💞👍

I have seen these large ostrich eggs on other occasions, but this is the first time I have seen art painted on them. You have undoubtedly found something genuine dear friend @gems.and.cookies
Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful work of art.
have a splendid morning

Hello my friend. Thank you for the very wonderful reply and you're welcome too. It was my pleasure sharing this beautiful art 🎨😊

I love how you often come with artistic images of birds and that 's always interesting and valuable contributions ! Have a wonderful day @gems.and.cookies 😀

And I also love it @barbara-orenya when you suddenly pop up in my posts and leave me with such wonderful words of appreciation and inspiration. Makes all the effort worth it. Thanks and hoping you and yours are all doing well 💞

This is beautiful and delicate work.

image.png

It really is @litguru. Thanks for dropping by. I really appreciate it 😊

Amazing artworks... at ang mahal pala ng Ostrich eggs?
Taga Davao kayo?

Yes, taga Davao but I studied and worked in Manila for 18 years before transferring to Davao for good.

Actually, ngayon ko lang din nalaman na merong Ostrich eggs na binebenta dito sa Davao. I did a little research before I did my post on the Ostrich egg art. And it is expensive at P1,000 per pc.

OO nga eh. Sa Aklan me Ostrich farm ang isang resort dun, yung meat naman ang binebenta nila. Ewan ko kung magkano. :D

Masarap daw ang meat nyan. Parang tenderloin steak. Delicacy ito ng isang Chinese restaurant dito sa Davao nung araw. Pero Wala na ngayon. But I haven't tried it. Mahal din kasi.

This is utterly amazing and definitely stands out as an art and a message about this gorgeous eagle. I am truely impressed by the artist. And you my friend, you nailed it. 🙂

I am glad you feel that way about it as that was exactly how I felt when I first saw it. Thanks for the nice words of appreciation and know always that it is my pleasure to be able to join your wonderful and awesome contest. 😊

@sagarkothari88 reward 0.05 HP