SMAP Show Me A Picture Contest Round 48 - I Choose The Work Of Art

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

Hello Feathered Friends! Round 48 and still going strong with this exciting contest Show Me A Picture hosted by @nelinoeva. Join us and have a really challenging and fun time every week. If you still don't know about this just click on the link here for the contest post.

The theme for this week is:

REFLECTIONS OF BIRDS


Another challenging theme for this week! Bird photos are quite difficult to take with a low end cell phone camera. My place also does not have rivers, lakes or ponds that are accessible to me which makes this theme a real challenge for me. Well, as they say, "If there's a will, there's a way". Have to think outside the box again.

I was walking downtown the other day and noticed pigeons perched on the electrical lines. I thought, they could be reflected on the tinted windows of cars parked across them. I looked around and found some. Here are a few captures.

IMG20211209134427.jpg

IMG20211209134353.jpg

IMG20211209134403.jpg

What do you think? Well they do satisfy the theme for the week and clearly, if the intention is just to be able to participate, they would do. But I am a competitive person and I surely would like to give myself a good shot at winning too. Or at least give our distinguished judge, @oks2crypto, something to seriously consider.

Another thought came to mind. I remember my daughter sent me this photo from her visit to a Hannover zoo. It had reflections of storks on a man-made lagoon.

received_3738041526297249.jpeg

A crop of the photo above is shown below.

IMG_20211211_135047.jpg

Ahh, looks better than my pigeons-reflected-on-car-window photos. Would you agree?

Still, I had another option. I could ask my artist daughter to do a sketch of the theme for me. And she agreed! She said she'll do it in water color. I think she also wanted to brush up on her watercolor strokes. Here's what she came up with.

received_866766500679522.jpeg

Another shot with adjusted filter.

received_724260565215869.jpeg

She shared some process flow of the above painting.

received_215975610595981.jpeg

received_987739781838569.jpeg

received_1945329112318265.jpeg

IMG20211211130721.jpg

And now I believe I have to decide which photo to choose from to enter in the contest. After careful consideration, I choose the artist's rendition of the week's theme. As such, I am submitting the photo below as my entry.

received_866766500679522.jpeg

And that's it for this Round. Hope you enjoyed it. Thanks to our sponsors The Feathered Friends Community, @melinda010100, to our creative art supporter @barbara-orenya and our hard-working judge @oks2crypto. You guys are awesome!

(Unless otherwise indicated, all photos are mine.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @gems.and.cookies! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

🍾🍻🍕🎉🎊🎂🍻 😄

You are unbelievable 😀
You got three different ways to show the reflection of birds! How awesome!
Thank you once again.

Thank you for the appreciation @nelinoeva. But the appreciation should be all mine for having the opportunity to join in this wonderful contest. It's always a pleasure to do so and I thank you for hosting it 🤗

@gems.and.cookies Awww - so many ways to portray reflections! I really like the one taken on glass. Everyone thinks of lakes and water when we say bird reflections but this is different! Hats off to your daughter's artwork too

singature small avatar.png

Hello. That's a really cool compliment. Thank you very much. Hope you can also join in this contest in the future. Thanks for dropping by.

@gems.and.cookies Will surely join in future contests. I realized that the photo I planned to use today about an endangered species has a reflection. So - though I am too late for the contest perhaps, I will still drop a comment in @nelinoeva's contest post so that all the members can view.

singature small avatar.png

There's a weekly Reflection Contest running over at the Shadow Hunters Community. The current one is still on-going. Here's the link.

https://hive.blog/hive-179017/@annephilbrick/reflection-hunters-contest-round-43

It's still on its 5th day so you still have enough time. Go check it out. @nelinoeva's contest is for Feathered Friends Community. It just so happened the theme for the week was Reflections of Birds. Hurry over. You are most welcome to join the Shadow Hunters Community!

@gems.and.cookies Thank you so much for the guidance. Will join and participate.

I agree with Neli, you are amazing participant my friend 😊

So happy you feel that way @barbara-orenya. Participating in contests I like makes it always a pleasure and sometimes, I guess, the feeling is manifested in the posts 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more