Feeding The Birds

One of my great pleasures in life is to watch the birds and have the sound of their song in my garden. A few years ago my wife bought me a bird feeding station so that I can encourage more into the garden. We have a big picture window that I like to sit next to and read, so it seemed a good place to set up the bird feeding station.

I wanted to take photos of my visitors, but as I don't have a posh camera I have to rely on the one on my android phone. So I set the feeders as close to the window as I could. I put a variety of seeds in them and sprinkle dried mealworms on the small garden wall in front of the window.

The blackbird in the first picture is always quick to come and get his fill of tasty mealworms, usually followed by his mate. Although I wasn't able to photograph her today as the plants on the windowsill were in the way and she wouldn't move to the right position, and then she flew away when I tried to get into a better position.

Blackbirds are very plain to look at. The male is black and the female is brown. But the male has a beautiful song which is delightful to hear. At the moment it's still a bit early in the year, but in a few weeks he will take his position in a nearby tree or bush and sing his heart out. Hopefully the pair will find somewhere in our garden to build a nest and raise the next generation.

Photos were taken by me on my android phone through a window, so there may be a few unwanted reflections.

Sort:  

Pictures turned out excellent, my friend. !PIZZA !ALIVE

@kaazoom! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @cryptopsycho21. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you

Hi @kaazoom,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

It is a great and laudable job that you do, since I was a child I have never liked watching birds in cages, seeing them free and getting to eat is something that I do enjoy.

We always had pet birds when I was growing up. I never gave it much thought as a child.Over the years we had budgies, canaries and even an Orange Bishop If the subject about keeping birds in cages came up, my dad would say that it was okay as it was all our birds knew They were bred in captivity and knew no better. Besides, we looked after them well. That was the 1960s and earl 70s, attitudes But we're different then.

I would much rather see birds free and enjoy them my garden than have them in cages.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @birdwatcher.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Animals are attracted by love and affection shown to them.They become more loyal than any other creature with time...

I have some birds that return every day. I see them waiting, in the trees or on the garden fence, for me to feed them. This blackbird is always close by as is my resident robin.

Birds are one of the most beautiful creature God ever made ...

I agree.

now I see that you have the same thrushes as in our country. on your photo right our thrush! and the female thrush is also brown. and he sings great! 😀

This is a blackbird, which is similar to a thrush but a different species. They both have a beautiful song, but their songs aren't the same.

very interesting! I did not know that

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@cryptopsycho21(1/15) tipped @kaazoom (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!