Spruce Grouse

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Hello Hivers

I came across this Spruce Grouse on a hike, some people call them forest chickens, and it seems accurate.

Feeding on the ground it didn't pay much attention....

DSC_7218.JPG

to me, and went about it's business.

Very similar to the Ruffed Grouse, the Spruce has a smooth head as....

DSC_7219.JPG

opposed to a crown for the Ruffed.
So well camouflaged I didn't see it till I was a few feet away.

DSC_7221.JPG

Thanks for checking out my Grouse.

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

Sort:  

What great natural camouflage they have! They are literally invisible on the ground. Great photo!👍

Thank you...yes, I walked right up to it before I even saw it...and they are very tame, it didn't pay any attention to me...I saw a male earlier, I'll post it next week...

Dear @karbon, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago and only needs a few more HP to get funded again.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work this year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Your support would be really appreciated.
Thank you!