Birds and Reflections

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

Hey folks, today I would like to share some of my bird photos,

and I've got a little theme running through the collection... reflections. I think reflections add a lot to a photo. In the case of a bird photo, it's like you get two birds for the price of one!

DSC_5374.jpg

Above: a male Wood duck. That's a (Aix sponsa) if you care about that kind of thing. Question... why do they always put the scientific name (in brackets?) I don't know, but it's a thing... Serious bird fans LOVE those scientific names...

DSC_5363.jpg

Another male Wood Duck. Actually, it's the same one, just a different pose.

DSC_0229.jpg

Above: A male Mallard duck landing on a pond. Its tail feathers have just touched the water but not yet made a ripple.

DSC_0209.jpg

A pair of Canada Geese. Did you notice that I stopped giving the (Scientific names?) Well, it's because I don't care about that stuff. I could easily look it up for you but I'm just not going to. So there!:-)

DSC_80692.jpg

A seagull flying just above the water. I always try to get shots like this but usually the birds are too quick for me.

DSC_8562Edit.jpg

Here's another male Mallard duck, checking out his reflection. Who's the best looking dude around? It's ME ME ME!!!

All photos were taken by me, @keithboone. Thanks for looking! :grinning:


Thanks to @melinda010100 for creating the Feathered Friends community!

EEEoA8oLaAxsynowFFk4bE8dLXHjFGvtfzGwQ77PV1zaXRXvaHgxLWTeCMvSLrs1M8oXx9P6UXCdHQT1Ab7Ad3EiNzk8RB1a8DjQag87ZcnVbhSkZo619k5gH1hgvZkfNucd4E7tJAtuqJF1rHRoC.png


Sort:  

Cool! I agree, reflections added a lot to a photos! 😊

Thanks very much, glad you liked them :-)

Beautiful birds, awesome photographic captures. Definitely two for one with reflection off of quiet pond.

Take care and have a great weekend coming up.

Thanks very much, Joan :-) You have a great weekend too and stay safe.

!tip 0.3 :)

Thank you!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, even on HIVE I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Sorry, no beers or deranged or trdo yet... waiting on steem-engine to make the move to HIVE...
Week 2 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!

Very cool shots you got! Those wood ducks sure are pretty.

Thank you! I think wood ducks are the prettiest!

Fabulous photos. Our wood ducks don't hang around here during the winter. Just this week I saw a pair that had returned! It's cold and rainy but spring is getting closer! Thanks for posting these beauties to #featheredfriends
!Tip

Hi Melinda. As far as I know, our wood ducks don't migrate. We've just come through 69 straight days of sunshine, the longest on record for this time of year. We finally got some rain yesterday. There have already been forest fires in the area! Everything is crazy these days... I hope you're doing well.

The fact that our water freezes solid might have something to do with the wood ducks wise decision to leave!
The world has become a crazy place.

Water freezing solid!?! That's brutal! We've had a taste of winter during the last two years as well.

Well at least the top couple of feet of water freezes. But only ice skaters enjoy it. Ducks don't!

Awesome pictures @keithboone, you never let us down with your photos.
Nice going!!

Thank you very much, what a nice comment :-)

These are fabulous shots Keith with awesome reflections. amazing one with the seagull.

I'm happy you liked them, thanks so much! I always watch for seagulls flying low over the water because they make great reflections but it's tough to focus fast enough so I don't often get a shot.

The crispness of these photos is outstanding. I feel like I am right there with you. Well done!

Thank you, that's very nice of you to say. The first two shots were taken from a very close distance. This really helps a lot! :-)

Loading...

Beautiful! We have some ducks, but many (some say too many) Canadian Geese ( or honkers, as I call them!)

Those things are a nuisance really... very messy and too many of them around because there are no predators.

Hm, something went wrong with the comment, but I think I`ve managed to send the tip ;)

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Alphabet Hunt - Letter A Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks very much :-)