Woodpecker

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Good day to all!

During my walk, I heard the sound of a woodpecker. I knew that this bird lives in my area, but somehow the birds did not often come into my field of vision. Oh, here's a bird very close ... I tried to fire a few shots.

PA220013.jpg

PA220014.jpg

I also shot a short video.

I wondered what kind of woodpecker was this? Based on my photo and the information I found, it looks like a Syrian woodpecker. According to the source, Initially, this type of bird was distributed only in the Middle East and in the western part of Western Asia. Since the end of the 19th century, the range of this bird began to expand to the Balkans, to Central and Eastern Europe. In recent years, the woodpecker has been actively spreading over the territory of Ukraine and the central regions of the European part.

PA220010.jpg

PA220012.jpg

The bird was very busy with its bird affairs: it knocked with its beak, and then quickly moved along the tree trunk. Yes, shooting was unusual for me. There were several birds, but apparently seeing me the birds were alarmed. The shoot was short.
PA220009.jpg

Here is my short observation of a woodpecker.

Enjoy!

Original photos by @leylar

The photos were taken by OLYMPUS E-M1 Lens M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm 1:2.8 PRO

Sort:  

Great capture and info about this lovely bird! I'm glad you were able to get these photos before it flew off. ❤️

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words🥰

Отличное наблюдение!👍Так и есть! Это Сирийский дятел😃его сходу трудно отличить от большого пестрого, но есть небольшие отличия, которые сразу не бросаются в глаза. Это малозаметные пестрины на груди, но самое главное это усы. У сирийского, усы не доходят до затылка.

спасибо 😊, значит точно он

Hello @leylar!

very nice catch !
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Thank you @barbara-orenya and you!

Have heard them, never managed to photograph them they tend to blend in so well and move swiftly around the branches.

Well done @leylar birds are definitely moving with seasonal change in weather.