Feathered Friends - female Cardinal

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

The bright red male Northern Cardinal gets all the attention, often appearing on Christmas cards, and representing sports teams, but the female Cardinal is a lovely bird, too!

img_0.5395429797955582.jpg

Cardinals mate for life and you seldom see one without the other.

img_0.2257029366356248.jpg

They are most often in the underbrush and tangled brambles and this is also where the build their nests.

img_0.9945810981540139.jpg

The Cardinal Females are pale brown with reddish tinges in the wings, tail, and crest. They have the same black face as the male, and an orange bill.

img_0.04918743135526013.jpg

img_0.0022295859320880657.jpg

img_0.2556525305831768.jpg

Please stop by and vote on my Archon proposal. Everyone with staked Archon can vote in the comments HERE

img_0.31172321591170504.jpg
Image by @darkfemme



All comments written on Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, and Ladies of Hive Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.7800154777277732.jpg

uxeumm.png

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Sponsored by Ecency and Supported by OCD


plumes.png

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by OCD


plumes.png

Partnered with ARCHON


Comment and earn tokens!

Posted using Ecency Love

Sort:  

The red male birds are so beautiful.

Thanks! They are, aren't they.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 39 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Thanks Pix!
!BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Those are some really cool looking birds! Love them more than the more popular cardinals. We have some around here but not many.

Thanks! They are beauties!

sooooooooo beautiful ! love it , thanks for sharing !

Thanks! I do love watching the birds in my yard!

So beautiful photography👌👌

Thanks so much! 😃

Agreed, scintillating stuff.

Male northern cardinal looks like Red from angry bird.

You are right, they sure do!

Great shots but I especially love that first one with the beautifully frosted branches! I love cardinals too, but they like my landlady's feeders more than mine...lol! Either that, or they're just camera shy, because they only seem to visit my side of the yard at dusk, when it's wicked hard to get a clear shot. 😂

And I think I've voted on the Archon proposal correctly. If not, feel free to yell at me shout out & I'll give it another go. 😁

Your vote is done exactly right! I think many people voted on the post, rather than on the comment. We should know soon if there is enough to pass. I hope more people get involved in this decentralized community!

They both remind me of punks, with those mohawks. Maybe you should catch one of the ladies and dye her crest purple, green, and pink. She'd definitely get more attention then! :-)

That would be fun to see! They certainly look like cone heads when viewed from the front.

Beautiful photos of the cardinals - I wish we had them in our area they are so colorful!

Thanks! They do provide bright spots to dull winter days!

What beautiful birds! And their name is appropriate, majestic.

Most people here would choose Cardinals as their favorite birds.

Oh my! These are totally the same birds from the game Angry birds. I had no idea they were real birds I thought they were just made up cartoons.

But that plumpy looking bird is sooooo the big heavy one that breaks through all the barriers 🤣

I'd love to hear what they sound like.

They have a very distinctive voice. Here is a brief sound clip.


People that know little about birds can usually identify a Cardinals song.

Oh wow amazing!

I think I learned a new thing not sure if this works but I'll give it a shot !WINE


Cheers, @melbourneswest You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @melinda010100.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.000 HIVE

hello dear friend @ melinda010100 good day
What a beautiful collection of images, unaware of these types of cardinals. they are really very beautiful
I take this opportunity to wish you a splendid day

Thanks so much @jlufer! They are beautiful birds and I enjoy having them in my garden!
Could you please come vote on my Archon proposal? The link is in this post.

it is true they are very beautiful birds
If of course you have it, right now I vote your proposals
have a splendid afternoon

A most beautiful post Melinda and just what I needed to see today!! I agree that the female is really pretty too! This reminds me that I need to refill my feeders as well. I need to get a couple of new ones also. The two I currently have are getting old and the weather has weathered them quite a bit.🐦💖
Tip

Thanks @deerjay! After 20 years I had to replace my old feeders, too. The new one is made of synthetic material that should last forever and I love the cylinder feeder that I got. No mess and perfect for on the deck.

Most welcome Melinda! 🙂

Cardinals are so pretty. I haven’t seen any here but they are known to be on PEI.

You are right on their northern range! Maybe with global warming you will see more of them.

I hope so Melinda. They are a beautiful bird.

What a beautiful girl!
Where's her boyfriend?

He is always close by! You seldom see one without the other.