Eurasian Siskin

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Last week I have a chance to see a new bird. This is Eurasian siskin, or just siskin.
The scientific name is Spinus spinus and it belongs to the order Passeriformes.

This little bird is from finches family. By far I have photographed four finches - greenfinch, goldfinch, hawfinch, common chaffinch. Now I add the fifth.

PSX_20211126_041906.jpg

By its look, it is female, because male siskin is more yellowish. These black strikes on the belly are more visible by the female.

PSX_20211126_041831.jpg

What I have learned is to look carefully every little bird, because sometimes finches are among sparrows. I may have missed many, just because I have ignored the sparrows.
This time the siskin was but alone. The bird did not wait for me and flew away, so I have just few shots.
I read that the siskin is not very timid and can let humans close. This will give me better chances next time I see the bird. Hopefully if will let me stay close long enough.

PSX_20211126_041750.jpg

Since it is a new bird for me, I start searching for infomation and this is what I found. In my country it lives in the mountains and when it is getting colder and in winter can be seen in the villages and towns. This is why I saw it now. The bird prefers conifers, because it feeds on their seeds, but they also love the seeds of birch and alder. I have no clue what was that tree, where the bird was perching.

When they feed their chicks the diet will consist of insects to help the growth of the little ones.

PSX_20211126_041938.jpg

The song is melodic, but I could not here it, because it was really very short encounter. Hopefully next time I can hear the bird singing.

I very much hope that this will not be just a single encounter and there will be some nice males to spot as well.

Till next time.

Happy birding!

8SzwQc8j2KJa5zNbRVVrXkzCd9HNSAM9TwKNjpGfnZQaEUx2JQSjqPxP8u5ALcoJQQZV19pBEQhXPQExNpqKqyaaTs6d7RHPFrJE4NDRRyaFoYMkWRC.webp

80pli5.png

Feather divider and banner created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

👍I sometimes see these birds in a flock of redpolls in winter, very rarely. But in the spring there are many of them in the forest.

Today I saw them again and soon will post the photos. Lovely birds they are.

Lovely little bird. Nice photos taken, @nelinoeva.

Thank you very much, glad you like them. 🙂

she could easily hide herself between sparrows, you are right ! ^_^

It is easy not to see it at all with such colours, the bird blends with the environment.

Nice spot! Not come across this one before either!

Thank you. 🙂