Great and Blue Tit

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

Great Tit and Blue Tit.

Let me start with the Great Tit (Parus major), as big as sparrow and as numerous as sparrows. This little bird can be heard from dawn till dusk and hardly can be mistaken. The colour is specific and when it hides among the leaves and branches my lens is not good enough to make clear shot. But when it comes to the open and in close proximity, then I am happy to show my photos.

My first shot is the one I like the most, because I caught the bird with open beak.

PSX_20211025_171707.jpg

You may think it is singing, but I can assure you that the bird did not make a sound. It just opened and closed the beak. Within seconds I did several shots and then the tit was gone. Let's see how nicely it poses.

PSX_20211025_212024.jpg

PSX_20211025_212310.jpg

PSX_20211025_212640.jpg

The Great tit is not shy and if I have patience, who knows, I may feed it from my hand. They feed on insects in summer and in the winter when the insects are missing, the diet is on seeds.

Next image is from another day. Now you can see that the colours are not just black, white and yellow. The back is green and there is blue in the wings.

PSX_20211025_214123.jpg

8SzwQc8j2KJa5zNbRVVrXkzCd9HNSAM9TwKNjpGfnZQaEUx2JQSjqPxP8u5ALcoJQQZV19pBEQhXPQExNpqKqyaaTs6d7RHPFrJE4NDRRyaFoYMkWRC.webp

The other common bird - the Blue tit (Cyanistes caeruleus) can be seen together with the Great tit and the sparrows. Smaller than the other two, this agile bird loves to hang upside down when feeding. Its menu is similar - insects and seeds, nuts.

One morning while having breakfast in the kitchen and aimlessly looking through the window I heard some noise coming from the top branches of the chestnut tree. That tree grows in front and almost reaches our floor. To my surprise bunch of tits, great and blue, were frolicking there. Actually they were feeding and I did not know what they found among the withering leaves.

First, after I grabbed the camera I took few shots through the window, I did not want to scare the birds. They were rather busy though and I opened the window and did few more.

PSX_20211026_072242.jpg

PSX_20211026_072645.jpg

PSX_20211026_072921.jpg
Here you can see how the bird is hanging on the leaf.

PSX_20211026_073938.jpg

And since it is the week of the Photo Edits (if you don't know, this is the link to the contest SMaP, click and see what it is about) let me finish with some artistic image, thanks to Deep Dream Generator.

7eedc19256f8fad077710c414e67fb6b17b18c65.jpg

And that is all for now. Wishing you lovely day and happy birding!

80pli5.png

banner created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

I love these birds! ☺️It is a pity that blue tits do not live with us.

They are so joyful. 🙂
But you have the other one - the azure tit.

I don't know how many times I have scared away a bird in an attempt to get a better photo.
With blue being my favorite color, I love the pictures of Blue tit with all of the different shades of blue.

Oh, believe me it is sheer luck to get close to these small birdies.
But hopefully they will be more visible in the coming days when the trees become bare. Which comes with the cold and frozen fingers. Not nice to take picture when you don't feel your fingers. 😀

I have just tagged you in a comment as I saw someone has copied your text.

Frozen everything is just around the corner.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Greatly appreciated your support!