Lesser Spotted Eagle

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

When I look up and see soaring big bird, I think how much I wish to fly like an eagle. I can't explain why I am attracted by them. What drags me towards the sky? Perhaps my desire to fly free. Flying is always associated with freedom. No boundaries in the sky. No limits where to go.

When i saw this eagle outside the office and pointed the camera up, mates from work asked me what did I see. Some has spotted it, others did not. I said eagle, although I am still far away of identifying the raptors before I download the photos.

So eagle it is indeed. Again I asked for help to id correctly and this is Lesser spotted eagle.

Look at this wings, big and strong, the winspan is 150 cm and although it looked big in my eyes, the lesser spotted is medium-sized eagle. In my country this eagle is vulnerable and protected. I am not sure if I can determine the age of the eagle, though should be easy based on the colour of the plumage.

Now, I would like to tag the Wild Spirit, aka @vm2904, because he has the idea to start a community about Wildlife conservation.
What better than to share some knowledge about this project financed by the European union - Conservation measures for the Lesser Spotted Eagle and its habitats in Bulgaria, Reference: LIFE18 NAT/BG/001051. The link will lead you to European Commision Life Public Database with details about the project.

Within this project 10 Lesser spotted eagles are monitored through GPS. They have beautiful Bulgarian names, some after old rulers or saints, such as Kubrat, Tervel, Georgi, Ilia for the males and Boryana, Iglika for the females.
The project website is: https://eagleforests.org/home/ and it is packed with information.

Back to the tracking. In the website there is a map, where we can see the route each bird did for certain period of time. Here is one


Source.
During the migration Tervel, the eagle went far to Sudan in Africa. That was for a month. How far did he fly for six months? Have a look at the next map.


Source

It is amazing how far he went, before he returned back to Europe.

There is much more we can learn about these majestic birds and to do whatever needed to protect their habitat. The very least is to talk about and help people to be educated.

After I found the conservation project about Lesser spotted eagle, I will keep on following it and searching for other projects about birds.

80pli5.png

banner created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

signature_2.gif

Ecency Love

Sort:  

Thanks for your contribution to the STEMsocial community. Feel free to join us on discord to get to know the rest of us!

Please consider delegating to the @stemsocial account (85% of the curation rewards are returned).

You may also include @stemsocial as a beneficiary of the rewards of this post to get a stronger support. 
 

@nelinoeva Wow - it is great that you got to see and capture the LSE. I have been fortunate to see GSE (Greater spotted eagle) in our parts but not the LSE. It is so interesting to see the experiment to study LSEs by tracking them. I will certainly take a look. I think more such efforts are needed - especially for endangered species.

Thanks for tagging me and drawing attention to my Wildlife conservation related community idea. I do not know the first thing about starting communities so it is going to need more study. If someone experienced can guide us then it will be great.

I was lucky to see it several times. Curious about the conservation, because we have so many problems with illegal felling. Forests are so important and I hate to say the bandits destroyed a lot.

I haven't done my own community, but I think it must be easy to create. I am not pushing you. You can take your time and do it whenever you like and you have time. But if you need any help, you can count on me. I am not very active on discord, but I am checking for messages and you can DM me.