Meet the Scops Owl

in Feathered Friendslast month

Hello friends,

I have been busy (who hasn't?) and frankly as much as I wished to post more often, I really couldn't find time. Anyhow, now I am opening my photos and I am choosing to show today one of my favourite birds - the Scops owl (Otus Scops). Owls are just awesome and every encounter with them made my day. Unlike other birds, during the day they will stay put on some branch resting and this makes photographing them a little easier. Well, first you have to find them.😉


If you follow the #SMaP (Show me a photo Contest in Feathered Friends Community), you have already seen my photo of the owl. Here is the link Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 167. I also invite you to join the fun and to share your photos in the contest. This week we have the most loved Free Theme.


On our Saturday walk with the dog, we heard the sonar like sound, that undoubtedly belonged to the scops owl. Usually I hear it at night. Following the sound, we looked at the trees, but saw nothing. I thought it might be in the private gardens across the road. On Sunday we looked again. The pine trees are perfect hideout. And hubby exclaimed as he saw it first. Mind you, this owl is tiny. It could fit in my both palms. According to Wikipedia, the length is 19-21 cm, but this one seems smaller.

PSX_20240519_172258-01.jpeg

This is not the first time to see and photograph the scops owl. A couple of years ago we had the pleasure to observe three on a same tree within a month.

This cutie got "ears" of feathers like the Long-eared Owl.

PSX_20240519_173301.jpg

I was so close, the closest ever been to an owl. But that made the bird more curious about us.

PSX_20240519_174711.jpg

I changed the settings during that photo session and here is the photo I like the most.

PSX_20240519_175047.jpg

Speaking about the camouflage plumage, check this out - headless body, same colour as the tree bark.

20240519112154_IMG_4767.JPG

And I am leaving you with this last image. We did wake the bird up, so it was about time to leave it in peace.

PSX_20240519_181331.jpg

Happy Birding!

Owl be back 😉

image.png

8SzwQc8j2KJa5zNbRVVrXkzCd9HNSAM9TwKNjpGfnZQaEUx2JQSjqPxP8u5ALcoJQQZV19pBEQhXPQExNpqKqyaaTs6d7RHPFrJE4NDRRyaFoYMkWRC.webp

banner and feather divider created by @barbara-orenya

Thank you for viewing my post.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

Hi @nelinoeva I loved all the photos of the owl, you were lucky to see her and that she let herself be photographed, she is a tenderness. I would love to meet face to face with one, they are so cute 🤩. Best regards💐🌼🤗

Thank you very much for stopping by!
I am so glad you like my photos and wish you can have the opportunity of meeting these fantastic birds.

Thanks very much🌼🌻💐🤗

Hello @nelinoeva I can imagine how exciting it must have been, being so close to this owl
Your photographs of the bird are beautiful

It was exciting and I was in awe. I always be when I see an owl. 🙂

Good afternoon dear friend @nelinoeva
It's good that you knew the sound of a bee's chirping, thanks to that you were able to find this beautiful specimen.
I love these photographs that you have been able to take, I have never seen an owl in person before.
have a lovely afternoon

I hope you can see an owl, it is a wonderful sight.🙂

Thank you so much!

Picsart_24-03-23_16-07-05-756.jpg

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team
Join to our Discord Channel
Be part of our Curation Trail

DELEGATIONS ARE WELCOME

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 200 HP | 500 HP | 1000 HP |

Big thank you! 🙂

Oh, she's so cute! 😊although she looks like a stump with ears. 😄

Thank you so much! 🙂

Fantastic shots. I'm so envious of the owl shots. I can't wait to find some down here. I think I would be buying some frames for a couple of those shots!

Aww, thank you very, very much for your lovely comment! 🙂

How exciting to spot this gorgeous bird. It's a good thing that you went back the following day. Your hubby needs to go with you on all of your walks. Spotting this fellow as it blends into the background makes it difficult to spot.

Great photos, I agree with the one you think is the best, just a fabulous pic!

Thank you so much!
My hubby has eyes of a hawk and I am blind as a bat. LOL.
I am glad he is with me on these walks.

Its body actually looks like a tree trunk and camouflages well in that tree. So cool!

Owls are masters in disguise.

Totally adorable, peeping at you through one eye, sitting watching is brilliant capture.

!LUV
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@joanstewart, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @nelinoeva and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/18 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.