Sepia Bird Photos

in Feathered Friends5 months ago

Happy Feathered Friday!

We had a lovely, warm Friday and since I am rather busy in the office, I don't take the camera with me. However I was out at lunch time to gather some vitamin D from the sun and I saw it, the sparrowhawk chased by noisy jackdaws and bunch of pigeons. Regrettably I have no photos, but if the weather stays as such during the weekend, then I might have fresh new photos to share.

Until then, I dived in my old photos and played with the filters. After the Black and White round in #SMaP, I thought to explore the sepia tone, another monochrome tone I haven't used for a long time. It is that brown coloured images from the past. Interesting facts about it one can find in different articles. It is called sepia after the Cuttlefish and ink that was released to escape from danger. The colour of that ink is browinish and the sepia comes from the Greek word for the Cuttlefish. By the way, we call it Sepia in Bulgarian language too.

So, the sepia toning seems to be discovered by chance, or at least we don't know who was the first photographer who used it. Like I said, there are numerous articles in internet, if you are interested more about it. Basically it was used in the old photos to smooth the images, to be warmer in some way.

Now, the applications got always this filter that can change your photo. But how it will work with the birds?

I made some experiments and you can compare with the original, coloured version.

Let's start with this one - the Wren.

PSX_20240223_070027.jpg

And the original.

PSX_20240223_070002.jpg

Not a big difference, as the bird is brown and the it doesn't change much.

But what about some colourful bird like the Blue Tit?

PSX_20240223_070332.jpg

And the original.

PSX_20240223_070235.jpg

Hm, I like the old look, but I also like my coloured photo. I wonder what your preference would be.

The app I used, Photoshop Express, has one more sepia filter and here it is.

PSX_20240223_070437.jpg

This one is much colder, but the last called Antique is more like the first filter.

PSX_20240223_185241.jpg

The last photo I played with is of the Green Woodpecker and I like the sepia the least. I think the original is better.

PSX_20240222_070935.jpg

PSX_20240222_070856.jpg

I am curious what you think about this filter, do you like sepia tone and that old look of the photos? Are the bird photos good looking when trying to make them older. And do you like to have a round in #SMaP contest dedicated to the sepia tone?

Drop your comment and tell me your opinion.

image.png

8SzwQc8j2KJa5zNbRVVrXkzCd9HNSAM9TwKNjpGfnZQaEUx2JQSjqPxP8u5ALcoJQQZV19pBEQhXPQExNpqKqyaaTs6d7RHPFrJE4NDRRyaFoYMkWRC.webp

banner and feather divider created by @barbara-orenya

Thank you for viewing my post.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

How are you dear friend @nelinoeva good afternoon
What a shame you didn't bring your camera, but with luck and if the weather permits, next week you will surprise us with other of your beautiful shots

I love these editions, I must say that I never used the sepia filter for my photographs

Beautiful photographs, and excellent editions, have a beautiful Friday afternoon

Well, Saturday morning is very promising and I soon I will be off. Let's see what I will find.

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team
Join to our Discord Channel
Be part of our Curation Trail

Delegations are welcome

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 200 HP | 500 HP | 1000 HP |

Big thank you!

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @watchlist! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@watchlist has 4 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.