Walk in the park and feathered friends

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

This Wednesday was a public holiday and the weather was in my favour - sunny and relatively warm. As usual I went in the park in the morning and in the afternoon and while walking the dog I met again plenty of birds. Let me show you around.

Three new bird houses were put in the park and I am curious which birds will decide to reside there. I will keep an eye on them.

PSX_20210303_175354.jpg

The sweet song from chiffchaff could be heard from a distance and luckily the little bird wasn't hiding but I even got it looking at me.

PSX_20210303_163301.jpg

PSX_20210303_163149.jpg

PSX_20210303_163118.jpg

Because we were earlier out, the park was almost empty in the morning. I mean there were no people and luckily plenty of birds. Pigeons were lined on the wire, there were probably twenty of them but I got a shot of three only, because I prefer the close-up.

PSX_20210303_163604.jpg

Further we met woodpeckers. They are always here and hardly we could miss them. First I heard the Great spotted.

PSX_20210303_164034.jpg

Wonderful female, who went down on the trunk and let me click few more shots on eye level.

PSX_20210303_165554.jpg

PSX_20210303_165716.jpg

PSX_20210303_165508.jpg

At the same time Syrian woodpecker were hopping with nut in its bill.

PSX_20210303_203631.jpg

The next shot was from the afternoon - another Syrian woodpecker. Both males. Easy to recognize by the red cap.

PSX_20210303_165942.jpg

There were starlings mixed up with woodpeckers and I did not know where to look first.

PSX_20210303_203513.jpg

I stopped for a while to listen to the songs of the birds, starlings and sparrows mixed choir with blue and great tits.

Below you can see the blue tit, nice little birdie.

PSX_20210303_173228.jpg

PSX_20210303_173309.jpg

PSX_20210303_173124.jpg

PSX_20210303_173049.jpg

I found myself ignoring the Grest tits and having less photos, so here I have just one.

PSX_20210303_175131.jpg

I missed the wren, agai, who was pretty fast and hid among the branches but I got few shots of the goldcrest, but not so good. Goldcrest is also very agile and challenging to focus on him. I think this is a male with orange crest on the head, whle females have yellow crest.

PSX_20210303_173724.jpg

PSX_20210303_173559.jpg

Goldcrest is the smallest bird not only in my country, but in Europe. Just imagine that - less than 10 cm in length and weights between 4,5 and 7 grams.

I have mentioned many times that the photos of the birds are made in our local park which is pretty small. Yet, I am still amazed about the diversity of species.
To give you a clue, where I find them, I add a photo of our area from Google Earth and I have outlined the park.

photo_1614836572594.jpg

I still believe that thanks to covid, the flights from the nearby airport being suspended and reduced to a couple per week, made the area safer for the birds.

And I reached the end of the post. Thanks for your time viewing it.

If you like photographing birds, you may wish to enter the contest I host - Show Me A Photo and this week the theme is Bird in Water. Here is the link to the contest post - Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 9.

Till next time! Stay safe!

80pli5.png

banner created by @barbara-orenya

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for viewing.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

One walk and so many birds, that's amazing :)

I am so happy to have such opportunity to see all these birds so close to my home.
Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comment.

Lovely photos. What a wonderful park you have.

And just imagine. I haven't explored the woods nearby.
On the other hand we have huge city park stretched alongside the sea. Also a place where many birds could be found.

A Feathered Friends paradise! Now how lucky can one get.

I have to do a walk like that, today!

@tipu curate 2

Thank you very much!
It is great to walk in the park where trees start to bloom and the birds singing.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Huge thank you! ❤

how are you dear friend @nelinoeva good afternoon
What a beautiful place where you live, I am surprised by the enormous variety of birds that live there.
Yesterday a storm approached and a woodpecker came to the bottom of the house, that is not very common here, it was so beautiful the moment that I did not want to lose detail in going to look for the camera.

excelnet post, I appreciate all the information and beautiful images you share

have a nice afternoon

Thank you very much for your kind words @jlufer!
You would not believe that since last year I was almost neglecting the birds in the park except for the woodpeckers. Once I started to photograph what I found I was amazed by the number of species in this small place that by now they are above 40, including the migratory birds.

What a nice encounter you had with the woodpecker. Sometimes it is better just to watch the bird and enjoy the moment, like you did.

What wonderful photos! It even seemed to me that they breathe in spring!

Thank you very much!
Spring is in the air and soon the migratory birds will arrive. In fact some have already arrived. I saw photos of the first storks and just now I commute and look at the both sides of the road where usually the flocks of storks stop in the fields, but there is nothing yet.

What a wonderful variety of bird life in that small area, exceptionally rewarding when you go out and come home with a camera full of great photographs @nelinoeva

Soon the migratory birds will arrive and there will be even bigger variety to observe and photograph.

Seasonal change with birds always fun to watch, breeding season for most here now taper off, but many stay, some go with winter approaching.

!BEER


Hey @nelinoeva, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.