Little cuckoo

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

DSC09563_view-1.jpg
I saw this little cuckoo when I was walking through the forest along the river bank. In the forest, along the very shore, there is a forest path about which few people know. Usually fishermen use this path when they come to fish.
As I walked along the path, I heard a loud cry of a bird. I didn't see this kid right away.
Small trees and bushes grew all around and it was difficult to see. I saw this cuckoo when I got close to him. When he saw me, he immediately fell silent. I stopped and did not approach him. When the cuckoo realized that I did not pose a danger to him, he began to make loud sounds again. At first I thought that he fell out of the nest and therefore screams loudly. But then I noticed two little birds. These were warblers, male and female, who flew in the distance. I stood and did not move, and gradually the warblers got used to me. They flew up to the cuckoo and put various insects and worms into its mouth.
I realized that this is one family. The chicks raised this cuckoo and are now feeding it, although the size of the cuckoo was three times the size of its adoptive parents.
The cuckoo was still small and did not fly well. He sat on a branch and waited for food to be brought to him.
Apparently the cuckoo put their egg in the nest of the warblers and they raised it. Chicks probably thought it was their chick.

DSC09557_view-1.jpg

This went on for a long time. After all, feeding such a huge cuckoo to two small warblers is very difficult.

DSC09559_view-1.jpg

The cuckoo was sitting on a branch all the time, turning its head and constantly squeaking loudly, signaling to its parents that it was hungry. The most important thing is that he did not fly anywhere, although I was quite close.

DSC09560_view-1.jpg

The frogs were constantly spinning around the cuckoo and were practically not afraid of me.

DSC09564_view-1.jpg

After standing still a little, I slowly stepped back and tried to remember this place where this cuckoo lives.
I decided to come here again a little later and try to see this little cuckoo again

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Nature has brood parasites placing burden on other bird species. Cuckoo bird lays in warbler nest, cuckoo chick arrives before others will kick the eggs of warbler bird eggs out, small birds end up feeding this much larger bird.

We have similar in the Pin-tailed Whydah bird and our Common Waxbill, very odd in nature!

Excellent photography telling the story, hope you get to photograph the warbler birds feeding this cuckoo.

@tipu curate

The cuckoo chick looks big, it is well fed. What friendly warblers. It would be nice to see photos of the warblers feeding the cuckoo.

Lovely bird and beautiful photography!!!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

О! Отличные фото. Это большая редкость увидеть кукшонка

я вижу впервые!

Hello @nilpan!

Very nice shots of this young cuckoo ^_^
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Красотулька! Отличные фотографии!
Я не видела кукушат.
Поэтому и говорят на некоторых женщин "кукушка", т.к. родила, но невырастила