Little woodpecker

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Woodpeckers are not often seen now. Previously, when there was no road through the forest, there were much more birds. But when the construction of the road began, they brought in a lot of different equipment. She roared loudly, knocked and rattled. They cut down a lot of trees. As a result, the number of birds in this forest has greatly decreased.

DSC03506-4.jpg

Woodpeckers generally flew away probably to another forest. But one day I got really lucky. I walk along the edge of the forest. I hear the familiar sound of a woodpecker's beak on a tree. Came closer. But I don't see anything. Then I see a small woodpecker on a dry tree. But it wasn't a chick. It's just such a small breed.

DSC03520-4.jpg

I haven't seen these before. Walked closer to him. The woodpecker did not fly anywhere, but continued to do his job. I was very surprised. He tapped his beak on the old withered tree.

DSC03504-4.jpg

I became interested. I decided to wait and see what the woodpecker was looking for. But no matter how much I watched him, I did not see anything. But the woodpecker tapped this tree with its beak for a long time.

DSC03512-4.jpg

Once I came across an article about woodpeckers. One researcher wrote that woodpeckers often attract females by knocking on an old dried tree. I don't know if this is true or just a guess.

DSC03503-4.jpg

But this woodpecker knocked for a very long time. I stood there for almost an hour. But no one came to him. Maybe he was just hungry and looking for food. But it was still very interesting to watch him.

DSC03526-4.jpg

Too bad it was a cloudy day. But it's good that I saw this little woodpecker. More I managed to see this breed of woodpeckers.

дятел 1.gif

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Малый пестрый дятел. Забавный он.