Nuthatch in the park at the feeder

Today it is noticeably colder and it is snowing heavily. February is always rich in winter blizzards. I decided to go to the park and feed the birds. It is now very difficult for them to find food in such inclement weather. It's good that you decided to go. All feeders are empty. Apparently people do not want to leave the house on this cold and windy day.

DSC01352-4.jpg

In this place I have my own personal bird feeder. I myself hung it on a tree branch and constantly pour food for birds there. But today poured into the neighboring feeders. They were close to mine. People who come to feed the birds often put food in my feeder too.

DSC01343-4.jpg

Children especially hang a lot of feeders. They make them from various packages and boxes. Sometimes they themselves are glued from cardboard. They are always painted with different colors. There are feeders made from plastic bottles or cans.

DSC01338-4.jpg

As soon as I poured food into the feeder, tits immediately appeared. These birds always appear first. They are probably waiting for the food to be poured into the feeders. They immediately began to take turns carrying food from the feeder. Gradually, about two dozen birds appeared. Suddenly, a nuthatch appeared on a tree trunk not far from my feeder .. He began to quickly run up and down the tree trunk.

DSC01346-4.jpg

He was looking for something in the square of a tree. I thought that he would fly up to the feeder where there is food, but he did not pay any attention to the feeder. Apparently he wanted to find food for himself, which was hidden under the bark of a tree. He constantly moved along the tree and almost did not stop. It is a pity that I did not manage to photograph him near my feeder.

DSC01347-4.jpg

We don't have many nuthatches this year. Previously, they could be seen quite often. It is very nice to see them in our park. Perhaps there are more of them in the forest. But today is bad cold and windy weather with snow. Therefore, it is not comfortable to go into the forest. But it's still good that I decided to go to the park and bring food for the birds.

Sort:  

I'm always interested in watching a nuthatch move along a tree trunk))

I agree, they are very interesting. So deftly run along the trunk of a tree.

За этими ребятами всегда интересно наблюдать. Особенно если их приручить.

Жаль только в этом году их значительно меньше, чем было в прошлом.