Wagtail catches midges on the roof of the garage

in Feathered Friends11 months ago

Today, on the way to the forest, I came across a very interesting wagtail. Private garages are located on the outskirts of the city. I always walk past these garages. Usually rare to see. But today I saw a wagtail on the roof. From a distance it was clear that she was running very fast along the roof.
This intrigued me and I decided to take a closer look.

At first I did not understand why the wagtail moved so quickly on the roof of the garage. Only when I got closer did I see that she was chasing midges on the go and catching them. It was very interesting. Birds usually catch midges in flight. But this wagtail caught midges running on the roof.

It's amazing how fast she moves. Changed direction instantly. At the same time, she managed to follow the midges flying around, which also moved very quickly.

I've never seen birds catch midges like that before. It was very funny to watch how deftly the wagtail catches up with midges and quickly eats them.

I stood for a long time and watched this wagtail, which did not pay any attention to me. She was literally absorbed in her occupation of obtaining food for herself in such an unusual way.

Sometimes she suddenly stopped abruptly. Looked around. Apparently observed whether there is any danger to her. But then again she began to catch midges.

It was very funny to watch how the wagtail deftly catches these midges on the fly. It is a pity that the bushes just growing around did not make it possible to come closer.

Sort:  

Отличная фотосессия получилась! Особенно первое фото очень смешное.

Спасибо. Эта трясогузка так быстро бегала, просто удивительно.

I wonder if she is able to fly properly? Did you see her in the air???

Can I please use one of the pictures in Let Our Picture Tell Your Story, giving you full credit?

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

Thank you. Of course this wagtail can fly like a normal bird. Runs very fast on the ground. Easily catches up low-flying midges.
You can use my photo in your project. All the best and success.

Thanks so much 🙌 I meant this particular bird, as she wasn't flying. Could a wing be injured?

!LUV