Barred Owl - SMaP #49🦉

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

Hello again, Bird Lovers!

img_0.7663701293266261.jpg

"HOOT HOOT"

A few days ago I noticed there was silence and an abnormal absence of the regular feathered friends visiting the bird feeders hanging on the back deck so I stepped outside to take a look. Recent deadly tornadoes in the area followed by a few days of strong winds disrupted the birds' normal activities. Much to my surprise, straight ahead and looking directly at me I spotted a magnificent huge owl, (I believe it is a barred owl), perched on a branch across the stream in the woods behind my house.

img_0.2480370603090364.jpg

I snapped a few photos with my smartphone and took a quick look at them. The quality was grainy and the owl blended into the environment. It was hard to see. I knew if I was going to get any images worthy of the Feathered Friends Community I needed to bust out my new Nikon D3500 digital camera so I ran inside to grab it while hoping and mentally begging the owl to stay put.

img_0.13737179836808164.jpg

Thankfully the barred owl was blissfully content where it was when I returned with my camera and telephoto lens.

img_0.8473143877245259.jpg

Imagine my surprise and delight when the owl started preening!

img_0.6744381825020447.jpg

Click!

img_0.48789074492094686.jpg

Click!

img_0.5055949660975885.jpg

Click!

img_0.10126121376753501.jpg

Click!

img_0.04832010945397499.jpg

Note: If I incorrectly identified the species of the owl, I'd appreciate if someone would kindly let me know in the comments.

I present to you my entry to the Show Me A Photo Contest - SMAP Round 49 where the theme this week is "PREENING BIRDS."

Thank you to all the talented aviary photographers and material presented by the contributors in the Feathered Friends Community founded by the wonderful @melinda010100.

You can learn more about the fun contest hosted by the wonderful @nelinoeva by clicking here: https://ecency.com/hive-106444/@nelinoeva/feathered-friends-show-me-a-d43827f4ac563

Images taken with Nikon D3500 digital camera and edited using Snapseed.

©2021 Nina Haskin. All rights reserved

img_0.6699815991446948.jpg


Thank you for taking time to stop by and visiting my blog. I truly appreciate everyone's continued support! Remember to live your best life!

2020_07_13_17_40_39.gif

Proud member of

@thealliance @steemusa @qurator @steemitbloggers @ladiesofhive

Posted using @Ecency

image

img_0.7121503210873764.jpg


Simple Posted with Ecency footer

Sort:  

Super cutie and he looks like he is posing for you as a skilled model, is he?
!LOLZ
!LUV 1
!BEER

Did you hear about the guy who threw his alarm clock while hosting a party?
He wanted to see if time flys while having fun.

@ninahaskin, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @sissim72
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/4)

Delightful sighting no wonder you ran back for your camera, wise owl gave a display on preening and cleaning what a lovely looking bird!

Wow... very cool bird and also very hard to find in big forest ☺👌👌👌🥃 I was find one also last summer, but I did not get so close then you 👀👌👌🥃

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 85 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
12

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is so cute....never seen them.so close before.

Good job spotting this beauty! I have had a hawk hanging about the past few days and it's funny how the normal routine gets disrupted and it becomes obvious to us that something is going on

Great pictures of a #feathered #friend that one doesn't get to see too often.
Although the forests are bare this time of year, there is something about the lack of color that catches the imagination.
If it were not for your keen eye, you may not have spotted this owl as he blends into the woods with his colors matching his surroundings.

Those are stunning captures of an owl. I have always found them to be such interesting birds. You were lucky you got to see it so close.

Wow, incredible find! A barred owl was just seen in this area for the first time in 20 some years I think, but no luck on seeing it yet here.

Congratulations @ninahaskin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 19000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 19500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - Offer a gift to to your friends
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What a surprise to see preening owl!
Fantastic! I am so delighted to see an owl through your lens. 🙂

I never seen an owl closeup yet in my neck of the woods, and the only Owl in my neighborhood is a fake plastic one used to scare away the Starlings that help themselves to the backyard produce. Not really effective as my Blueberries often disappear before they ripen.
I do see other birds; Bald Eagle often at a distance, Robins, Lot's of Crows but I really enjoy the presence of Steller Jays.

Thanks for the pictures @ninahaskin 🦉

He must have heard you mentally begging him to stay 😄 He even planned to surprise you with a preening show which he did succeed in doing 😂

Great SMAP entry. Best of luck with the contest.

Beautiful Photography, loved it🌸

He sure does have some amazing camo!!

Unbelievable! I don't think I ever seen owl like this in the nature. Maybe back in the childhood in the zoo, which I wouldn't go these days anymore! You really got lucky that she waited for you there. Great shots! 💚🦉💚

Truly incredible...Nina! :) I must say, capturing such a bird, during the day... and you absolutely got stunning shots !
It is indeed so very well blended with the whole environment around itself! Amazing !

Very well done ! :)

Cheers !