Walking and birds spotting Week 05

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Hello friends.

This is week 05 of my weekly walking and birds spotting diary. All photos were taken in the period from January 28 to February 04. Again I'll share with you photos of different bird species around the place I live in. During this period, the seasons changed. From cold and snowy to warm and sunny days. I spent more time within the settlement due to the weather conditions. And that’s exactly why I was able to spot many smaller birds.

As usual, I'll start with the most common and most numerous birds.

Sparrows

This week I saw both tree sparrows and house sparrows. Both species are found in dense vegetation nearby or in the settlement.

sparrows_01.jpg

sparrows_03.jpg

sparrows_04.jpg

sparrows_05.jpg

sparrows_06.jpg

sparrows_07.jpg

Rooks

Large flocks broke up into smaller groups. Sometimes a lone bird is seen flying, and more often smaller groups occupy the tops of trees or gardens looking for food.

rook_01.jpg

rook_02.jpg

Pigeons

They are always in the same places. Sometimes they fly, but more often, they rest especially during cold days.

pigeons_01.jpg

pigeons_02.jpg

pigeons_03.jpg

Magpies

Magpies slowly but surely descend from the tops of trees. I notice them more often on the ground or at a lower altitude from where they observe the environment. I often meet them with the kestrels sharing the same tree.

magpie_01.jpg

magpie_02.jpg

magpie_03.jpg

magpie_04.jpg

Collared doves

This week they are more often seen on trees instead of on power lines.

dove_01.jpg

dove_02.jpg

dove_03.jpg

Long-eared owls

They rest during the day and are easy to find because they are in the same location.

long_eared_owl_01.jpg

long_eared_owl_02.jpg

long_eared_owl_03.jpg

long_eared_owl_06.jpg

Common buzzard

We are still chasing around. When they notice me, they respond with a sharp sound like a loud whistle. I mostly see them outside of populated areas in certain locations.

buzzard_01.jpg

buzzard_03.jpg

buzzard_04.jpg

Common kestrel

I see them less often than in previous weeks. Sometimes I notice them on the canopy of a distant tree or in flight.

kestrel_01.jpg

kestrel_03.jpg

Herons

I usually find a white and gray heron in the same location together. The location is such that I am not able to get any closer to them. They are located mainly along the irrigation canal. Sometimes they move to the field in search of food or when they see me.

herons_01.jpg

herons_05.jpg

herons_06.jpg

herons_07.jpg

Woodpecker

I see them more often, and they are quite active in the food search. I see both males and females equally but separately.

woodpecker_03.jpg

woodpecker_05.jpg

woodpecker_06.jpg

woodpecker_08.jpg

woodpecker_07.jpg

Great tit

On sunny days I often hear them on evergreen trees. I rarely manage to spot them because they quickly hide in the canopy.
Fortunately, this bird flew to the top of the tree and sang its beautiful song.

great_tit_01.jpg

great_tit_02.jpg

great_tit_03.jpg

Wren

I've heard a few birds in the dense canopy of the pine tree, but I only managed to take this photo. It is quite a lively bird and moves quickly from twig to twig. Since it is small, it easily hides in the canopy of an evergreen tree.

wren_01.jpg

Kinglet

This is a new species of bird I have spotted. I haven't seen them before. This is if I have identified it correctly, the goldcrest (Regulus regulus), the smallest bird in Europe.

kinglet.jpg

Thank you for stopping by and supporting my content!

Sort:  

It's funny, house sparrows fly together with field sparrows. Although some city dwellers, others are wild.
Owls are just lovely! So I want to cuddle them! owls are cats with wings!

Owls just look cute, and basically, they would eat you too if they were bigger.

Fantastic images and the goldcrest is a real find. The last image is of a male bird with orange on top of the head. By far I have seen only female goldcrests and their crest is yellow.

Thanks!
I thought that it was a different bird while I was taking photos. At the time, I didn't see the crest at all.
I've read that they make nests on pine trees, so I'll check that tree again soon because I've heard a few birds.

I always find them on pine or fir trees. I was surprised to see the goldcrest in our park. Besides if it was not of its song I may miss it.

If I hadn't heard him sing, I wouldn't have noticed him at all. I waited a few minutes for him to show up just for a moment.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Thanks a lot for the constant support! ♥️

 3 years ago (edited) 

This is a fantastic post with incredible photos! It makes me so happy to see that you got well deserved curation rewards! -Melinda

Thank you! I am pleasantly surprised and thankful for the amount of community support.