A Kite Raptor of note.

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Yes he can hover and he dives almost as fast as the Peregrine falcon.
IMG_5681.jpg

This is the famous Black-winged Kite (Elanus caeruleus) that falls in the Hawk family.

We were at a farm dam and I was laying flat on my stomach and using my elbows as tripods to get this guy. It was a real challenge and at some stage I froze, as he was looking directly at me.
These were the times when we still lived up north in the country and I must have at least 500 or more photos of the kites seated and flying in the wild. Also some gruesome shots of them tearing their prey apart.
But this is about an artist print on canvas and a painting.

IMG_5682.JPG

IMG_5684.JPG

Oh yes, he saw me and their eyesight is many times stronger than human sight. I have always wondered how they could spot a field mouse when they are miles up in the sky. Apparently their eyes are also equipped with sonar properties. Imagine if we were to have sight like this bird?
You will be able to see your angry approaching wife from a mile away and have ample time to hide away :)

IMG_5689.JPG

IMG_5693.JPG

IMG_5700.JPG

IMG_5705.JPG

So what is it to be?
Which of these two photos would you select, one for a 1 meter canvas print and the other for a painting?
Please let me know in the comments below.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

I want to see some kills and feasting! Totally tag me if you post some of those!

Nope, I don't post them anymore my friend, but here's one especially for you.
10_june_2017.jpg

!BEER

Waaaaa! Frig'n awesome man!

Glad that you liked it and here's another one for you.
20_may_2017.jpg


Hey @enginewitty, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you kindly for the support @ecency and the Team.

What a regal looking bird and such fantastic shots of it
Hard to pick from these there all so good but since you asked

for the print I would suggest the second to last image

and for the painting the third one

Thank you kindly for your suggestions JJ and thank you also for your appreciation of the shots.

!BEER

Most welcome my friend

!LUV some !BEER now and again


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

And he is an amazingly beautiful bird 🤩

The third and the fourth photo are my favourite, my friend, although I might get rid of these flower things that "stick" into the Kite 😎


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

Thank you Hannes 😊

So it's numbers 3 and 4 that you like and I will consider it. Those sticky flowers are weed thorn balls that grow all over the place. A real pain to walk through them 😐

Cheers and thanks.

My pleasure, Zac 😊

It's just that these weed thorn balls are very distracting in my eyes and that's why I would clone them out. But it's not possible to clone them out when they are in your way 🤣


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

I would "clone" them out if I had editing software my friend, but you are right, as there is no way to clone them out in a physical way. It is much better when they plough and plant the lands, but when they leave the land to rest, then the weed thorns jump up all over the place 😐

Cheers and thanks.

Oh no, I didn't mean you should do it, I just meant that I would do it. And you certainly didn't have the time to change your place or angle, so the images are perfectly fine. I would love to shoot such a photo even with hundreds of these plants all around the bird.


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

No matter Hannes, it is as it is and I know that you do not mean any negative criticism.
It just shows the value of proper editing programs that one can use to blot the thorns out.
You are right as that bird will look great in any situations 😉

Cheers and thanks.

👍👏


Cheers with !PIZZA and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @papilloncharity.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.480


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
papilloncharity tipped nelinoeva (x1)
@papilloncharity(3/5) tipped @bfciv (x1)
johannpiber tipped papilloncharity (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Wow, wow, wow. You nailed it with this kite, the photos are excellent.

Thank you Lady Neli and yeah that's some of my favorite photos.

!PIZZA

Wow great shots I believe I like the perched one looking to the left of the frame the best. Looks like it is watching you and looking around at the same time. I love the color contrast of its eye!

Thank you and yes, they are indeed all seeing as their eyes also have ultra sonic properties.
Definitely not a common little bird.

!PIZZA