No, they are not Eagles!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

492.JPG

I thought that surely this was a pair of Eagles coming in, but to my amazement, not so!

As usual, a surprise photo at the end of the post!

This photo above is number 492 of a feast of 574 photos that I took today. First was the morning sunrise that I posted earlier and then many of the others were taken at the ocean. In between, I also got some moon and other wildlife shots.
Come and have a look at what kind of birds these are!

493.JPG

494.JPG

373.JPG

Yes, they are known as "White breasted Cormorant's" (Phalacrocorax lucidus)
These are the largest of the Cormorant species in our area.

Now here is the surprise photo below!

405 (2).JPG

This is my champion fisherman. A "Little Egret" (Egreta garzetta)
He has bright yellow feet and altough I have posted one previously, today I spent a lot of time with this one and he caught 5 fish right in front of me.
Keep an eye out for when I do a full post on this guy!

We saw many beautiful sights today and I also snapped many birds in flight, but one of the astounding sights was a gull mating with a female in the sea.
I mean they are supposed to swim out there in the water and to do their lovemaking on the sand, but no, not that guy, as he was making babies in the swim.
I will post the picture sometime!

And That's All Folks!

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading!
Camera used; Canon Powershot SX60HS

I leave you with this:

“Happiness is the new rich. Inner peace is the new success. Health is the new wealth. Kindness is the new cool.” —Syed Balkhi

We hope you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for the visit to the blog of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

Ha. They do look lime eagles in the first pic. Awesome shots!

Yeah, that's exactly what I thought judging by their wingspan and their tails.
To be honest I was sadly surprised that they were not eagles, but glad to get the big cormorants.
Most people take photos of them in sitting positions, so the in flight shots made me happy.

I thought eagles...

The picture of the egret is great. @galenkp's wife will love it :D

Every bird is an egret unless proven otherwise. At least to Faith anyway. Lol.

I did think they were eagles inthe first shot that a lot of photos a good day out :)

!tip

Yeah JJ, when I saw them coming far off I "knew" they were eagles because of the the tails, but they made a tail out of me hahaha.
We cerianly has a great day out, but today was one disaster after another, happy all fixed now.

Thank you for the kind tip my friend and once again, so good to have you back.

Blessings to you guys!

I hope your day is improving now, stay safe my friend

An improved day indeed my friend and all is well again.
Thank you for the care!

thats good to hear a real hot one here today so trying to stay cool :)

Well when you talk about the heat, the year 2019 was classified as the hottest year since they have started the annual temperature statistics in the 18 hundreds. The hottest year on record.

And they say that if an immediate turn-around of the earths release of damaging gasses, it will get even hotter year after year.
We are like frogs in a boiling pot JJ.

Blessings!

I think this year is matching 2019 and possibly going higher, a trend sadly I expect to see happening a lot

I think your right we are like frogs in a boiling post

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: July 23 2020 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly @tattoodjay

Excellent photos! What a terrific day you had! Love that marvelous gull photo. Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

My pleasure Lady Melinda, today I was in a quamdary though, as although there were some birds in today's post, my main theme was on the squirrels.
I can hardly call the squirrels #featheredfriends hahaha.

I will soon be back.

Blessings and thank you for the kind tip my friend!

Your squirrel post certainly had enough birds to qualify for #featheredfriends! ❤️

Cool, I will rember that next time milady!

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: The Feathered Friends Curation #7 Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly Lady @melinda010100

Ha ha! But in fact, in flight, they can be confused with birds of prey. Great shots.

Yes you are right as they certainly had me fooled far off, but I was at least happy with the shots lol.

Did I ever ask you about your tag name "Ratel", as it is very South African?

Blessings!

What a nice birds! You really have an eye! In the right place at the right time. 😎

Thank you and you are really talking about what I always say my friend.
"At the right place at the right time" hahaha.
Only lucky for it to happen like this.

Blessings and hope that your weekend is good!