You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Strange habits of care in our rural areas.

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

I agree with you that a sign will be a good idea. Guineas like to roam and there are miles of open spaces on the farmlands available to them. Some groups number in their hundreds and the good thing is that they cross breed, as this keeps their genes strong. The bad thing is that they are defenseless when their babies are taken by predators and we have seen some that lost all of their babies.
In fact I have photos of the babies in my files somewhere.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

It's very sad when that happens. The village ones are getting streetwise now but when one runs across the road they all follow. I hold my breath at times!

I don't know how I missed this one? Always a hair raising one when they simply cross roads.
We often see roadkill squirrels here and what really gets my goat, is that some drivers simply don't care and they drive over them.

!PIZZA

Oh, tell me about it. I've taken many animals to the vets. I can remember one vet saying to me she didn’t know how I spotted so many injured animals. I'm hawkeye when it comes to spotting injured or poorly animals.

Great of you to be aware of the needs out there Julie and it is much needed.
Thankfully our emergency cage is standing around empty. Our last customer was a pied crow that lost his right leg to a predator of some kind. Crows will attack any bird the flies into their territory and this crow was bitten by one of the big birds. He stood now chance and the Vet had to put him down.
Oh no, here she is again! Is what I think the vet whispers every time that he sees you with a "patient".
But you just keep it up as you are doing wonderful things by helping the animals.

Zac.

!PIZZA

Thank you. I've always been an animal lover and always will be. ❤️

You have a good heart my friend ❤️

!PIZZA