Free, as the birds

in Feathered Friends7 months ago

Back to my "bird posts", as I heard from a guild member today 😆! And well, he's not mistaken; this week's SMAP has a free theme, so perfect for anything bird related.


I didn't got as many bird photos as I would have hoped in my last vacations, but got a few little gems, so might as well share them here!


Common house sparrow - Passer domesticus, female

No, these are not the gems you're looking for. But they're cute, anyway: these sparrows were near a small church in a pilgrimage site in Galicia, Spain; probably marvelling at the flow of tourists in the hot summer day.

I wasn't even at the nacional park I was going to visit, but I never complain when a decent bird photo appears, regardless of the location. Though I must admit, in an even greener setting, even a little common sparrow shines brighter.

Arrived at Picos de Europa, a fabulous park in northern Spain, filled with huge mountains that contributed to the park's name. Big winged creatures are a common presence in the skies here, although this one was further away than what I would have wanted.


Eurasian griffon vulture - Gyps fulvus

Vultures are a common sighting, not only the griffon vulture, but also rarer species; I couldn't find them this time, and although I even spotted perched vultures, I was too far away for a decent photo. Well, it's always a good excuse to go back!


But here are the gems I was hoping to see.


Red billed chough - Pyrrhocorax pyrrhocorax

The members of the Corvidae family are everywhere, but some are rarer than others! These ones have that distinctive red beak, and were seen flying around, sometimes in rather large groups; they don't exist in Portugal, so I was even happier to see them.

This species also made me realise that either I have a faulty camera or I need to learn how to take better photos with it, because it was almost impossible to take a decent photo of them!

Fortunately, I had better luck with their "cousins"; you see, red beaks are not the only coloured beaks in Corvidae members in these mountains!


Alpine chough - Pyrrhocorax graculus

Alpine choughs appeard too, and so near! This species is normally only found in high mountain area. I had just arrived at a belvedere and was admiring the view of the Covadonga lakes, when a small group flew to meters away.

Alpine choughs... and turds. Turds were all over the place, so it was inevitable to have them on camera as well!

Seeing two rare species of this family was enough to mak my day, even without sights of the large vulture groups, or the eagles. Big or small birds, just being able to witness them in their natural habitat is reward enough, especially in places like this.


European robin - Erithacus rubecula

rgazlbwpwi.png

Hive divider by doze.gif

Still haven't joined Splinterlands? In what planet do you live in? Click the banner below and join the fun! (It has my referral link; you can go directly to the website if you don't want to use it; either way... join in! 😎 )

Sort:  

De volta às publicações da "passarada"! Eu sei que não são só pássaros... LOL

Exacto! Aves, aves! :)) !BEER


Hey @xrayman, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Haha, great bird post! I tried really hard to get a shot of a hummingbird resting on a fence but I just couldn't get my camera to get it sharp before it flew off. That pic at the top of the sparrows is so good!

I know how hard it is to capture those little ones on camera! I would have post material for one year with all the blurry/half bird photos... 😁

I have a faulty camera

lol we've all been there 😅
otherwise looks like a good day out birding 🙂

It was an awesome day, and the landscape is just incredible; just a bit too many people for my liking, guess it's the price to pay.

Oh, this is so cool to see the choughs, they are indeed so rare. And the vultures, they are in my list too. Sparrows are wonderful little ones and they stand out so well in your photos.
Thank you again for your great entry and have a wonderful week!

You too, Neli, and full of birds! :)

Great photos and observations.👍

Thanks!

This is an amazing post
I love birds and they never look ugly

they never look ugly

So true. Cheers! !BEER


Hey @rafzat, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @pardinus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

@pardinus, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your board.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023