Feathered Friends Contest #10 Beaks/Bills

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

My photos for this challenge are all cropped because really, my little bird friends just would not let me get that close. Yes I did use my zoom lens, but hey lets get close and personal with these beauties.
Let's first look at the Ruby-throated Hummingbird, she is an iridescent beauty, how do I know this is the female? I'm glad you have asked, we can tell because the red throat patch is missing.
A Hummingbird does not really use their beaks, they actually keep it closed while using their tongue to stick it into the nectar.
DC5A7E53-C9E0-455F-AE40-7F77A7095CB0_1_201_a.jpeg

Meet the next contender the Red-bellied Woodpecker, I must admit to you he is one of my very favorite bird friends. This fellow is a male, his red crown is the give away, the female has a gray crown.
Now the woodpecker is the master of using his beak, not only does he pound away at the tree bark to find insects, but they also hollow out their nests in trees. An interesting fact about the Red-bellied woodpecker is that they can stick their tongue about 2 inches farther than their beak.
F89A3AE7-5DF6-4C43-B3B7-44F7D99E16CB_1_201_a.jpeg

And my last contender is the Northern Cardinal, he has personality and brightens any yard. Both the male and female mate for life, during the Spring the males become very territorial. Their beak is used to break seeds open, when nesting the male will feed the female as she sits on the nest.

AD0FDEC3-C22F-4CE7-ADCC-EBF129FDC01E_1_201_a.jpeg

This is my entry for the beak/bill contest, it has been fun to pick out my favorites to post.
Photos were taken with my Cannon EOS Rebel T2i, the content is mixed with mine and from my favorite book Birds of Missouri Field Guide by Stan Tekiela
@pinkdragonfly

Sort:  

Great capture on that hummingbird! It's hard to get good photos of them, with all that crazy speed!

@pardinus thank you it took a lot of patience but I've got a few good pictures of them hovering.

Great looking beaks! 😀 You chose a nice selection!

Congratulations @pinkdragonfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Lovely photos and interesting facts about these birds. Always a pleasure to learn something new. ☺

👍

Thought of you yesterday. Had two gorgeous kingfishers sitting outside my window, they were both looking to the side, heads turned at exactly the same angle, was so picture perfect, and I wished that I had my camera so that I could share it with you. Cant wait for you to come visit one day - you'd love the bird life here. I have a few friends that love bird-watching, and I would often go with when I still had a good camera.

Yes I would, the wildlife is so different there, I can't wait to come one of these days!!