A Beautiful Sublime Sunday - Bird Watching...

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

I'm always amazed at the amount of bird life around our place and most are still the hardy ones that stay here all winter.

One of the first returning birds is the geese. I've only seen a few but when we had a warm period I would hear quite a few but lately it's been cooler and you just don't see or hear them. I'm not sure where they go during the cold snap, if they find a sheltered spot or just move on. It's suppose to be warmer next week so I imagine we'll soon see a multitude of them. I did catch one pair as they flew over head -

Pair of Canada Geese Returning From Their Winter Retreat

pair Canada Geese in flight.JPG

The ravens seemed to be pairing up and there was quite a number of them flying over our place. I caught one in flight as he pasted by -

Close Up Raven in Flight

close up raven in flight.JPG

There seems to be a pair of woodpeckers who have made their home around our place for they are regularly coming by the feeder.

Female Downy Woodpecker Peering Around the Tree Trunk

close up woodpecker peeking around tree trunk.JPG

Downy Woodpecker Clinging to the Spruce Bark

close up woodpecker on spruce tree trunk.JPG

Another bird that makes his home around our place is the red breasted nuthatch. He's a cute little fellow and I enjoy his frequent visits to the feeder.

Close Up Red Breasted Nuthatch Looking at Me From Tree Branch

close up red breasted nuthatch on branch.JPG

Nuthatch Getting Ready to Take Off From Side of Feeder

close up red breasted nuthatch on side of feeder.JPG

There is another nuthatch that comes around but not as frequently - the white breasted nuthatch.

Close Up White Breasted Nuthatch

close up white breasted nuthatch.JPG

The most predominant bird in the yard is the bluejays. I caught one sunning itself in the early morning light.

Bluejay Sunning Itself on the Pine Tree

close up bluejay on pine branch in sun.JPG

The one bird that we use to see a lot of last year but not this year, I think because of all the bluejays there are this year, is the grosbeaks. They are usually here in flocks but there has just been single ones showing up.

Evening Grosbeak Looking at Me From Maple Tree

female evening grosbeak on budding branches.JPG

One bird that I managed to catch sight of on their migration to their breeding grounds were the snow bunting - a lovely bird.

3 Snow Bunting Peering Over the Snow Mound

close up 3 snow buntings on snow bank.JPG

Close Up Pair of Snow Buntings

close up 2 snow buntings on snow bank.JPG

Close Up Snow Bunting Perched on Snow Bank

close up snow bunting on snow bank.JPG

They didn't stay long and soon took off, a flock on the move.

Snow Buntings Taking Flight

7 snow bunting taking flight off snow mound.JPG

The spruce grouse seems to be moving around more although I've yet to see them this year but I saw lots of tracks.

Track of Spruce Grouse in the Snow

spruce grouse prints.JPG

I can't wait until more of the songbirds return, shouldn't be long now!

Bird images are for the #FeatheredFriends community hosted by @melinda010100

image.png

This is my Amazing Nature Contest August 2020 - #03 entry. See details here

Big shout out to @ace108 for running the Beautiful Sunday tag every week supporting the accounts. Also to @c0ff33a for the Sublime Sunday tag for your random Sunday posts!

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Looks like the sign of more feathers to come back.
I guess those snow bunting could be a bit camouflage if they don't move.

Love the pictures, dear! Such wonderful biodiversity in your area. My city's full of birds too and they're a wonder to listen to and to watch! Thanks for sharing this, I hope everything's great on your end!

Hey DrRune - good to hear from you - all is well here living peacefully back in the forest - how about you? I miss not having the Natural Medicine community for keeping closer tabs on all our International friends!

Everything good here too! The start of the year was tough but that's done now. I wish there were in-chain ways to keep those tabs, but for now, I'm glad that I found your post. Many blessings to you!

Really nice shots of the snow buntings!