show me a photo (of a bird) contest - round 9

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

chmg0150w2.jpg


This post goes for 'Show me your photo (of a bird)' contest, round 9!
The week topic was 'Bird in a Water'. As simple as that. A splendid prompt, I was almost doomed to use some ducks again
:P

But, eventually, I dug out some intresting shot that - on one hand - is focused on the birdie, but on another hand - it is really focused on the water! I like very much how it turned out after some editing. Water is always a magic transformer!

chmg0150w1.jpg

Hope you like it too. Check the rules and details to take part, they are pretty standard:

  • weekly challenge, new prompt is published on Sunday;
  • link back your entry in the comment section of the contest post;
  • photo should be your own, obviously;
  • post it in #FeatheredFriends community;
  • your post may feature more photos, just state which one is your entry (otherwise 1st will be taken into account);
  • drop some extra text description;
  • mention the contest name in the title of your post.

! 2.jpg

Sort:  

I love the way you captured the rippled waves around the colorful bird! Do you happen to know what species it is? These awesome duck on the water images would easily work for the reflection contest though I see you already have another entry -- a selfie at that! @qwerrie

yes, ofc: its a great crested grebe!
I already posted more pics from that day here:
https://hive.blog/hive-106444/@qwerrie/grebe-2
and still have a lot to share. It was a big session, I made about 100 shots (but they look like the same, a lot of them :)
and I already have posted this grebe for reflections contest some weeks ago... not so intresting to post the same stuff :D
!ENGAGE 10 - glad you like this stuff, Nina

Great post that went to! I wasn't sure if the grebe was a crane or heron

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for the gift!💓

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 47 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

What a beautiful great crested grebe. I like them very much. I am looking forward to their mating dance and the small ones this year.

 3 years ago (edited) 

oh! nice to hear this. I actually already posted most of my pics from this session I shoot last May. And I missed the both the mating dance and the babies (catched only eggs and sitting on a hatching). I will try to find a link to my old post, if you are intrested, that close-ups were very enjoyable. I am not convinced I could beat them this year, hehe xD @florian-glechner

I have already found it, very nice pictures, you really got some extreme closeups.

https://hive.blog/hive-106444/@qwerrie/grebe-2

aha. well, I was lucky - the nest was located, basically, just 1-2 steps from the ground, I dared to come so close that grebe even left the nest and was anxiously swimming back and forth, until I retreated, making a few more frames. so, all this is due to a good location, and not for a 600mm lens ... I do not own such a luxurious 150-600mm as you, I only have 150mm macro (light-powerful) and 70-300mm (standard and dark) at my disposal.

I really wish you happen to shoot their mating dance, and share with us the pics -- I've seen some photos in internet, its such a marvelous sight!!

I love the color in the water.

agree. in other pics of this set birdie is the best, but in this one - water wins :P

Awesome!

Grazie!

Mind blowing shot

I really hope your head will not turn into baloon, from excessive watching of this picture. cheers!

That is so beautiful!

img_0.8332311729447778.jpg

EXTRA supported with a reflection :D

Adorable bird and great photos!👍 This is The great crested grebe

This is really great photo and the reflection is awesome!

Grazie!