not a waxwing (10 fotos)

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

my first encounter with a Mistle Thrush

droz001xw.jpg

I spent a few days last week hunting waxwings. (I'll talk about this in more detail another time). Yes, I saw waxwings for the first time in my life, and even took some photos (but not outstanding ones). Partly for this reason, lately I've started taking telephoto lenses with me again. And a couple of days ago, I had to go on business to the city center. I armed myself with a wide-angle lens for cityscapes, and "just in case" put a telephoto in my backpack. I didn't plan anything on purpose, but I was lucky and I met one wonderful bird.
На прошлой неделе несколько дней я провел охотясь за свиристелями. (Pасскажу об этом в другой раз). Да, я первый раз в жизни видел свиристелей, и даже сделал пару снимков (но снимки так себе). Отчасти по этой причине, последнее время я снова начал брать с собой телевик. Пару дней назад мне нужно было по делам в центр города. Я вооружился шириком (для городских пейзажей) и "на всякий случай" положил в рюкзак телевик. Мне повезло, и у меня состоялась чудесная встреча, где он пригодился.

Итак, я сделал дела и уже поворачивал домой; я наделал банальных стрит-снимков, граффити, нашел на фонарном столбе Джоконду с надпечатанным тегом "меня не сотрёшь"... по пути мне встречались воробьи и голуби, но мой глаз отфильтровывает их и ноги проходят мимо не останавливаясь. Я подходил к станции метро и убрал камеру в сумку. Около памятника Тарасу Шевченко я замедлил шаги - на его лысине сидели и кайфовали два голубя (то ли от чувства собственного превосходства, то ли безнаказанности?..). Я оценил сюжет, освещение, подумал, стоят ли двое голубей, срущих на голову Т.Шевченко, моих усилий -- ведь нужно было доставать камеру и на морозе менять широкоугольник на телефото. Я решил что "ценности не прдставляет", и двинулся дальше - и через 10 шагов я увидел Его.

So, I did my business and was on my way home. I took some photographs in the genre of "street", graffiti, found Gioconda on a lamppost with an overprinted tag "you can't erase me" ... I met sparrows and pigeons along the way, my eye is already filtering them out and my legs pass by without stopping. I was already approaching the subway station and put the camera in my bag. I slowed down near the monument to Taras Shevchenko - on his bald head two pigeons were sitting and blissed out (either from a sense of their own superiority, or from impunity? ..). I appreciated the plot, the lighting, I wondered if this picture was worth it: the two pigeons shitting on Taras Shevchenko's head - my efforts, because I had to take out the camera and change lenses in the cold (change the wide-angle to telephoto). I decided that it was not worth it, well, his nafik, and moved on. But literally 10 steps later I saw Him.


droz007w.jpg


Это был не голубь и не воробей. На кустах барбариса я заметил вот это чудо, огромный пушистый бело-рыжий комок сидел и трогательно надувался, взъерошивая перья и повышая свою морозоустойчивость. Он смотрелся очень беззащитно, одиноким бедным потеряшкой - на фоне вездесущих голубей и воробьев, мельтешивших на фоне.

It was not a dove or a sparrow. On the barberry bushes, I noticed this miracle, a huge fluffy white-red lump sat and puffed up touchingly, ruffling feathers and increasing its frost resistance. He looked very defenseless, a lonely poor loser - against the background of the ubiquitous pigeons and sparrows that flickered in the background.


droz008w.jpg


Я думал меньше 1/10 секунды, лихорадочно доставая камеру и жадными руками привинчивая телефото объектив, я пожирал глазами объект съемки: вдруг он улетит, пока я готовлю камеру? Я начал подкрадываться к жертве фотосессии, и делал кадры с каждым шагом - а вдруг птица улетит, и я останусь вообще без ничего? Но птенец не улетал. Издалека я решил что это свиристель (за которыми я как раз гонялся на той неделе). Но чем ближе я подходил, тем яснее становилось, что это не свиристель, а другая птица - он не имел хохолка, и оперение было более яркое. Он выглядел как птенец-несмышлёныш, но откуда зимой случиться нелетающему птенцу? Рановато для птенцов.

I thought for less than 1/10 of a second, frantically taking out the camera and screwing the telephoto lens with greedy hands, I devoured the subject with my eyes: what if it flies away while I prepare the camera? I started sneaking up on the victim of the photo shoot, and took shots with every step - what if the bird flies away, and I will be left without anything at all? But the chick did not fly away. From a distance, I decided it was a waxwing (which I was just chasing that week). But the closer I got, the clearer it became that it was not a waxwing, but a different bird - it did not have a tuft, and the plumage was brighter. He looked like a foolish chick, but how could a flightless chick happen in winter? It's too early for the chicks.


droz009w2.jpg

droz009w1.jpg

Я обнаглел и подошел практически на расстояние вытянутой руки, продолжая щелкать затвором. Птиц подпустил меня на расстояние полуметра, потом не выдержал и передвинулся на соседнюю ветку. Так повторилось два раза, а потом... у меня села вторая, запасная батарейка. Вот так маленькие ограничения повышают качество выходящего продукта -- иначе я бы ушел не с десятком, а с сотней одинаковых карточек. :) Дома при помощи интернета, гугля и запросов "зимние птицы Ленинградской области" я выяснил, что я встретил дрозда, молодого дрозда, а именно такую разновидность как "дрозд-рябинник". Вот так выглядит более взрослая особь:

I got insolent and came almost at arm's length, continuing to click the shutter. The birds let me go to a distance of half a meter, then could not stand it and moved to the next branch. This was repeated two times, and then ... my second, spare battery went down. This is how small restrictions increase the quality of the outgoing product - otherwise I would have left not with a dozen, but with a hundred identical cards. :) At home, with the help of the Internet, Google and queries "winter birds of the Leningrad region", I found out that I had met a thrush, a young thrush, namely such a species as the "field thrush". This is what a more adult individual looks like:


#img #src


Но это уже было когда я вернулся домой и обрабатывал фоточки. Зная имя, остальное уже дело техники, прочитать про повадки и особенности этого вида. Я выяснил, что большинство дроздов улетает на зимовку, но не все, и вот как раз некоторых, которые остаются, и можно встретить зимой в ленинградской области. Так что случай не типичный, но бывает, ничего удивительного. Чудесная встреча, я получил массу удовольствия от наблюдения за птицей с такого небольшого расстояния!

But that was already when I returned home and processed the photos. Knowing the name, the rest is a matter of technology, read about the habits and features of this species. I found out that most of the blackbirds fly away for wintering, but not all, and here are just some that remain and can be found in the Leningrad region in winter. So the case is not typical, but it happens, nothing surprising. Wonderful meeting, I had a lot of fun watching the bird from such a short distance!


More pics from my set:

droz011w.jpg

droz012w.jpg

droz014w.jpg

droz015w.jpg


! 2.jpg

I welcome @rocky1, @appreciator, @upmewhale, @darthknight, @ranchorelaxo to check the post and enjoy the visuals.

Sort:  

ocd_curation_comment.gif

Some gorgeous images!

I don't like to be one of those people who corrects IDs etc, but looking at the grey head and the red/brown wings, I think this bird is a Fieldfare (Turdus pilaris). It is a member of the Thrush family (and hence closely related to the Mistle Thrush).

Link - https://www.rspb.org.uk/birds-and-wildlife/wildlife-guides/bird-a-z/fieldfare/

hmm. definitely it is a Turdus pilaris! (I've got a common Russian name as: дрозд-рябинник, i.e. the one who loves to consume rowan). the problem is, when I tried to get an English equivalent - translation, somehow it happened to be a Mistle thrush, not a Fieldfare. A little strange, how that could happen. Idk. HUGE thanks for correcting me! -- !ENGAGE 20

by the way. the link you provided states "UK conservation status: Red" -- does it mean they are rare and cannot be seen within UK too often?

Apologies @qwerrie, I have taken a step back from the internet (including hive) in the last week, having a little break from it etc.

There is always a danger in translating names haha (hence why we always stick to the latin binomial names 😉) I do like your 'Russian name' though, they do love those berries!

They are an uncommon but regular Winter visitor here in the UK, but numbers vary each year. The 'Red' conservation status refers to the drop in numbers recorded each year. As a species they used to be more common than they are now.

 3 years ago (edited) 

sure thing no problem with responding eventually. and this time I didnt ask any questions, just made a honorable mention :P
sometimes we all need a break from regular posting. cool that you can visit forest. I dont see this even on the horizon :) btw bambuka did a visit 2 days ago, and said 'everything is awaiting and preparing for a rush, ready to go'. (he was referring to the mushrooms, but not only them).

btw #2: @bambuka initiated a weekly contest with little prises (depending on the size of his initial post upvotes), something like 'tell a little story behind the photo'. It is pinned at FungiLovers community. No need for a separate post, just comments section. If you find it curios and intresting,-- very welcome to join it.

cheers!

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

this one helped me to take part in DNA species hunt initiative... heh, that wasnt easy for me! but hope it was worth it :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 44 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11

!discovery 50


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Fantastic photos @qwerrie, the bird seemed to be posing for you :)

thank you for your kind words :P

my heart of amateur photographer is melting!
actually, I have heard those birds let people come close and dont feel scared about humans (not like the waxwings, or tits!)... all birds are so different! he was not posing, but let me come to a distance of very good close-ups - he was sitting quietly just in 2 steps of me. and didnt fly away, just continued chewing the berries in a slow mode :P

Looks like he was hungry:D Anyway, it's very cute and I really like the ambiance, even though it's winter, it's colorful :)

Magnificent captures !!
I'm not one of the names you mention at the end but hope you will nevertheless enjoy my enthusiastic upvote 😁😉

hahaha, I even forgot what are the names, and checked to see. of course, I enjoy your enthusiastic feedback, no question or doubts about that, Barbara. glad you like the pics!

Wonderful post, I love these photos!! What a beauty.

Красавчик!
Мне фото понравились!

Look at you getting these fantastic shots of this beautiful bird! These are all really magnificent shots! Bravo! Thanks for posting them to the #featheredfriends community!

my sincere pleasure! glad you enjoyed the shots. my 1st time seeing such a cutie so close!
:)

Eye-catching 👍♥️

Отличные фотки!👍 по-английски эти дрозды называются Fieldfare.
Обожают червей и ягоды. Несмотря на то, что они зимующие, у нас из сибири они улетают подальше от холодов)))

спасибо, мне приятно получить ваш дельный комментарий.
я на самом деле не так уж хорошо знаком с наименованиями. поиск аналогов на картинках привел меня к названию "дрозд-рябинник", а уж его на английский перевёл как сумел, по способности... возможно ли, что и Fieldfare, и Mistle Thrush (разновидности, отличные по окраске) - оба переводятся на русский язык как "дрозд-рябинник"?

Such a beauty! I love to paint birds and this one Is so lovely. 💓 Fantastic shots!

thank you, thank you, Silvia! glad you enjoyed this fluffy cutie (me too!)

охохо
долго снимал это? ловил моменты:)
waxwings - прикольное слово, этимология интересна

привет! нет, на самом деле очень быстро, у меня батарейка в камере села (вторая! первая села ее до того), да и кадры были ужасно однообразные. я по дуге 30 градусов немного его обошел, чтобы и спереди а не только сбоку заснять. думаю, что вссего не больше 4 минут возле него простоял. а дрозд не улетал, только передвигался на соседнюю ветку, трудно ему было, очевидно, двигаться. я более чем уверен что он был того-с. "поддатый".

waxwings - это про свиристелей. да, забавное название! а это "дрозд-рябинник", я первый раз такого вижу. но, раньше я на птиц и внимания обращал конечно меньше.

а что это за фича в конце поста звать каких-то китов для апа?)

фича-не фича, но один иногда откливается. а остальные фигвам. ранчорелаксо приходит только если пост уже хорошо апнут. по мелочам не разменивается, "работает тлько по крупному". скотына эдакая...

It is so exciting to find a new bird, isn't it? 😊 Lovely bird and excellent shots.
This is a thrush common for my country too and I am very much eager to see it around.

It is so exciting to find a new bird

its absolutely like you say, Neli. 2/3 of my excitement probably came exactly out of this :P

very nice clicks. congratulations on the curation

Such a beautiful bird and AMAZING pictures 😍
You captured it so well and it looks so cute that I just want to cuddle with it 😁 lol
I know... I am weard... Love hugs tho.
The 4th and 6th pictures are my favorite, but they are all gorgeous.
I never captured a bird that close yet. Loved it 😉👍

Похож на раздувшуюся Фугу) Отличные снимки, не зря останавливался!)

фугу? не фигу, а именно фугу? что ето.

Ну рыба ядовитая, которая вздувается)

о! это ж вроде у японии водится такая. ни разу живьем не видел.

Да, они ж там любители поэкстрималить с едой) Эта рыба по моему готовится так что один из ста рецептов только съедобен!)

у японцев не такой экстрим, как у китайцев. вот у тех - дааааааааааааа!

Не, ну те вообще подорванные))