Birdwatcher Log: 26.06.20

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

I plan all my trips in advance, in a few days. And to be more precise, I carefully monitor the weather forecast. Yes, of course I have an excellent camouflage raincoat, but still I prefer that there is no rain on the day of the walk.
On Thursday, meteorologists promised rainy weather, but there was no rain! On Friday, they promised a sunny day, partly cloudy WITHOUT RAIN. Well, since it will be such good weather, I decided to go to the coastal forest.

Being on top of the hill, I heard the cries of a black kite.


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154112.jpg

In general, it is rare for a kite to sit on a tree. Mostly they fly, and very rarely allow to be seen sitting.

Going down to the coastal zone, everything was in the same place, in the same bushes, I saw a little common whitethroat.


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154140.jpg

A pair of birds fussed and screamed. It turned out that during my absence, they already had nestlings, and besides, they are quite grown up. I did not bother them, especially since there was a predator nearby, and went on.

Jumping off the coast, I slowly went towards the river. And this road is terrible. It consists of continuous viscous dirt and dense thickets. Until that time, everything was flooded there by the river.
And suddenly I heard a cracking sound! And from the flickering silhouette and the movement of the undergrowth, I realized that it was a corncrake.
Alas, I failed to take a photo. I spent about an hour in this dirty territory. It even seemed to me that this bird was used to me. And even reacted to the sound from the speaker, actively responding. The whole problem is that there are no bright open areas on this territory. To take a photo of this bird, you need to lure it so that it leaves the thicket to see. But all this was not there. just dense thickets. Too bad for me, and too good for this buddy :)


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154156.jpg

While I was hunting him, a yellow wagtail with prey in its beak flew past. She also chose this territory for living.

Upset, I got back to the coastal zone, and I was immediately met by a young long-tailed tit.


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154221.jpg

Pay attention to her face. In adult birds of the northern subspecies that live in Siberia, the muzzle is completely white and the eyelids are yellow. And young birds have a brown muzzle, with a hint of redness, and their eyelids are red.

Meanwhile, clouds appeared on the side of the river, terrible heavy clouds.
I decided to look into the ravine to my old acquaintances - common kingfishers
In the ravine a lot of all kinds of thickets, branches, bushes, it is very difficult to go there, but I managed. Looking around, I did not hear and did not see anyone.


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154240.jpg

But as soon as the sound was turned on, a bird immediately appeared and sat nearby.
There was one bird, and it was most likely a male, and the female, meanwhile, was in a hole and hatched eggs.


Скриншот 10-07-2020 154256.jpg

I still stayed in this favorite place of mine and watched how this handsome man was carrying food in a hole, and then a thunderstorm began and there was a shower on the river.

In the forest, there is nowhere to hide from rain. But it is in this forest that there are ruins of the old water intake, I quickly ran to them in the hope of waiting out the rain. How naive I am, he thought it would end quickly ...


IMG_20200626_145207.jpg
I really hope that this photo is displayed completely.

I sat for half an hour, but the rain did not stop. And judging by what was happening on the river, he should have been even stronger. So I decided to run home. It is scary when you are in an open space in a thunderstorm, and you hope that lightning will not strike you. Meanwhile, the rain got even harder! And a few minutes later hail began to fall! This is called "sunny, partly cloudy, no precipitation"! (-_-)

Here is such an unsuccessful trip with me turned out.
Waiting for you on my blog! See you later!

o0s3mikf8p.png



Sort:  

They are lovely birds, your photography is awesome 😎

thank you! ^^

Зимородок вообще супер. Отлично смотрится.

Будет еще лучше когда я обработаю фото с ним)

This is a wonderful informative post ! 😊

Thanks ^^

A wonderful post with great photos, I am glad you made it home safely and hope you were able to get all your gear dried out!
Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

Thank you! Although I am pretty wet, but all my equipment is intact thanks to a good backpack :)

🎁 Hi @ratel! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Round 126-Shadow Hunter Contest Winners Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.