Birdwatcher's Log : 12.11.20

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Seems like real winter is coming. Temperatures above zero are no longer expected, and today a lot of snow fell during the night. Almost all of our winter is cloudy, with the exception of days with very low temperatures.
Yesterday I decided to go to the forest to check how many birds there are. It was cloudy, and in the photos you can see why I don't like cloudy weather.
These are screenshots of raw unedited photos, I just want to share them with you as soon as possible.

_13_11_2020_115756.jpg

First I saw these northern birds. This is the common redpoll. They fly in large flocks. And they are very easily attracted to the sound.

_13_11_2020_115830.jpg

A flock of bohemian waxwings was sitting in the rowan trees nearby. They ate berries.
Do you see how dark the photo is? This is because it is cloudy and there is no sunshine. Therefore, when editing, i have to increase the exposure and shadows, because of this, the photo noise increases and all debris appears, in order to fix this, i have to eliminate the noise, which leads the photo to an unnatural "plastic" look. And all this takes a lot of time. That's why I don't like cloudy weather.

_13_11_2020_115849.jpg

There, I met ... a common chaffinch! Suddenly! Really? In Russia, this bird is called something like "frosty". And now it's clear why. It's already November, cold, snow, and these birds are still found in our forest. Moreover, they are among the first to arrive in the spring, when it is also cold.

_13_11_2020_115911.jpg

Oh, well, did I manage to take a normal picture of this bird? Eurasian treecreeper are very fast, nimble, dexterous birds that do not seem to allow themselves to be photographed on purpose.

_13_11_2020_115935.jpg

Well, everyone knows this bird. Great tit. One of the most numerous birds in the forest.

_13_11_2020_115951.jpg

A lush and red bullfinch flew alongside the waxwings. He also eats berries in winter, only unlike them, he does not eat berries whole, he pulls out the seed.

_13_11_2020_120002.jpg

And this is a lonely siskin. He was all alone, but in a large company of redpolls. Yes, occasionally these birds can adhere to their close relatives and fly together through the forests. However, siskins are more prone to coniferous forests.

_13_11_2020_120025.jpg

From the top of the hill, I saw a black woodpecker at the bottom of the ravine peck at trees and examine them. I was already frozen and hurried to him to take some pictures. When I got closer to him, this friend flew into a viburnum bush and began to pick berries. This is the first time I see a black woodpecker eating berries! I didn't even know they were eating them.
I managed to film it, and someday, when the turn comes up, I will definitely show you this.

Back at the top of the hill, I saw a couple of people with chainsaws sawing trees. I got so angry! I really hate it when someone destroy nature! I even wanted to sneak past them unnoticed and ruin their car. But everything turned out to be quite the opposite! They were just kind people who sawed down the already fallen trees that obscured the path. Simply put, lovers of this forest and orderlies. Obviously I see them sometimes in the summer, when they go to pick mushrooms. They also build wooden bridges across the river.

_13_11_2020_120043.jpg

A little further, a jay was watching these people. Well, how else? It is not for nothing that the people call her "the guardian of the forest"! She should always take care of everything that happens in the forest.

_13_11_2020_120100.jpg

The best way to warm up in the woods is by running. So I ran home. On the way back I saw a little willow tit .

That's all! I hope you enjoyed it. See you!

456.png



Sort:  

Отличные фото. Особенно мне понравился чёрный дятел, который ест ягоды.

What a good and abundant catch ! Thanks for sharing you finds with us @ratel 😍

Even your dark cloudy day photos are wonderful! Bitter cold is on the way, so stay warm in the coming months!

What beautiful.
You've shown more than I'll ever see in a day!