Birdwatching - 1954 🐦

in Feathered Friends25 days ago

🦉 The western marsh harrier (Circus aeruginosus)

  • Circus kirkos (Greek) and circulus (Latin) circle; mentioned in ancient Greek. by the authors a bird of prey with a distinct facial disc
  • aeruginosus (lat.) rust color



Almost every year, in the neighboring region outside the city, I go to the steppe, namely, I like to visit flooded meadows. These places are home to special birds that I have never seen anywhere else. Including this predator.

At first I thought it was an ordinary black kite, but it turned out to be a completely different bird.
He flies in circles over the meadow and water for a long time, and tries in every possible way to avoid me.
I read in the encyclopedia that this bird feeds on various mouse-like rodents. It can also catch small birds. And he is also able to catch a muskrat! There are small birds here, no rodents, but I have seen a muskrat in these places.

CameraLens
Nikon D5200Tamron SP AF 150-600mm f/5-6.3 Di VC USD