Siberian birds

in Feathered Friends • 3 years ago

Today I will show you exclusively Siberian birds by their name. First, I will indicate their Siberian name,as they are called here, and then English.

dsc_3548.jpg

🔶The Siberian rubythroat (Calliope calliope)

Slim slender inhabitant of shrubs. You can meet him both in open spaces and in mixed forests, the main thing is that bushes grow there. In the midst of these bushes, he spends his whole life.

dsc_3655.jpg

🔶TheSiberian shrike / The brown shrike (Lanius cristatus)

A very interesting bird. A real predator, which, in addition to insects, hunts small rodents. Inhabits open spaces, forest edges, where it sits on separate branches and looks out for prey.

dsc_0650_1.jpg

🔶The Siberian pipit / The Pechora pipit (Anthus gustavi)

I met this bird only once. Birds of this species are close relatives of wagtails. And they also shake their tails when walking.

dsc_3747.jpg

🔶The Siberian stonechat (Saxicola maurus)

Lovers sit on the tops of thickets and watch everything. Just like gophers. They live in open spaces with tall grass and thickets.

dsc_9385_1.jpg

🔶The Siberian sad chiffchaff (Phylloscopus tristis Blyth)

This bird is the only one in its subspecies that has a song. And a very good perky song, despite name (sad) of this bird. The rest of the subspecies of this species , has no songs, only a simple monotonous voice.

456.png



Sort:  

The rubythroat is so beautiful.

Hello, how do I have to translate your post haha
First look at the photos
The ruby seemed to me that he was going to a party, with his red bib.
The next one struck me as an attentive predator ready to attack.
The third one seemed to me a Dandy dressed in his frock coat
She seemed to me like a lady with a great delicacy in her mouth
I like all of them very much but the first one is my favorite here we call them txantxangorriak because of the red of their bib.
They are restless and little I have been able to photograph them
Happy Tuesday

 3 years ago  

Thanks for your comment, I am very pleased!

Very lovely birds, the rubythroat is gorgeous, and so is the shike.

I love that you used the Siberian names. It is funny how birds are named! Here in South Africa, the common sterling is called "European starling" ("Europese spreeu" in my native tongue). These shots are beautiful!

 3 years ago  

I'm glad you liked it. In Russia and neighboring slavic countries starling is called a very ancient name given from his sounds , something like "squorer"

That is so interesting! I did my honours thesis on how words get meaning and an interesting chapter was on how the same "things" get different names in different languages. This is really fascinating. Thank you so much for sharing this.

You live in an area with such unique birds! This is an excellent post! Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!

 3 years ago  

Thanks!

ocd_curation_comment.gif