Wildlife : Birdwatching - 1055 🐦

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

dsc_5227_1.jpg

🦉 The black kite (Milvus migrans)

📚 Milvus (lat) - kite
📚 migrans (lat.) - migrating

dsc_5242_1.jpg

You can distinguish this predator from other birds of prey by its tail shape. It is fork-shaped, well, or in the shape of the letter V.

Despite his size, this bird weighs less than other hawk and falcon birds of similar size. This is due to their underdeveloped muscles, which is why they are not particularly fast and cannot make rapid attacks from the air.

This predator is omnivorous. Shellfish, insects, fish, amphibians and reptiles, small birds, especially nestlings, rodents and carrion - this is what it feeds on.
In our city, they can often be seen circling above the courtyards. They look out for food leftovers in the trash cans. Sometimes they are lucky, and there they find the remains of meat or bones.

dsc_5238_1.jpg

456.png



Sort:  

I have seen this omnivore in my city too.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Great pictures!

thanks!

Настоящий хищник. Добычу свою высматривает.

Beautiful bird, I really like birds of prey they are always so majestetic.

I agree, especially when they are hovering in the air looking for prey.

Wonderful photos of this magnificent bird!

Thank you!

I saw black kite yesterday when I was leaving the office, it was hovering low and lickily I had the camera with me.

Do you also meet them right in the city?

I work in a very small town and the kite was hovering above our warehouse. So. Yes. It is within the town. I will make a post these days and I will show my photos.