Wildlife : Birdwatching - 905 🐦

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

dsc_8360_1.jpg

🦉 The common chaffinch or simply the chaffinch (Fringilla coelebs)

📚 fringilla (lat.) - finch; fi nco (Old German), fi nc (Old English)
caelebs, coelebs (lat.) - single, idle, unmarried

A rather interesting name was given to these birds by the great scientist Carl Linnaeus. Why are these birds called single (unmarried)?
I am 100% sure that they got this name because with the arrival of spring, when there is still snow and cold weather, but the sun is already warming, the males are the first to arrive.

dsc_8452_1.jpg

The males inspect the territory of the forests, choose a site for themselves and begin to sing, indicating that this is their territory and it is occupied.
And then, after a few days or a week, the females arrive. In total, it turns out that earlier in the forests there were only lonely males, when at the same time, in other regions, somewhere there are lonely females.

But this is so here, in cold siberia. Carl Linnaeus lived in Sweden, and I read that among the chaffinches, only males remained to winter.

dsc_8449_1.jpg

456.png



Sort:  

Very nice birdie, well captured.
I wonder if the chaffinch I spotted some days ago is male or female, My photos weren't so sharp. I feel I will keep on seeing it around this winter.

Красивый зяблик. Такой кругленький и пушистый.

Such lovely birds! I always enjoy seeing these guys! Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!