Baby Ducklings: How Many Will Survive?

This is my entry to the @featheredfriends contest hosted by @nelinoeva. Check 👉 Here for more information on the contest.

Theme

FLEDGLING
YOUNG BIRD



A mother duck and her eight little ones.


F981CE94-4916-49AB-B5E5-DAFB5F2DBD0F.jpeg



I had taken these ducks pictures when visiting at a cottage on Skiff Lake in New Brunswick, Canada.



FE9BB9BB-4B24-476E-90E6-9415C8F79DC2.jpeg



Mother Duck is proud of her babies.

At first there were eight but now only five ducklings left.

D309630D-EAB4-486D-8FDB-D2A4615970D8.jpeg



Unfortunately the mother duck cannot protect her babies against everything. There are predators when they come on land as well as in the water.

Ducks are delicate birds and can die from lack of food, extreme changes in the weather, such as, cold, rainy, hail or above average temperatures. They are open target on the water with the birds of prey around. There are hawks, eagles, owls ready to make a meal of a little duckling. Even a male duck will try to kill ducklings that are not his own.


2A1951FA-B551-4E09-82F3-52DC3C45C2D7.jpeg



Mother Duck circled around the perimeter of the lake each evening, proudly displaying her babies. As she went by the cottage with her little troop it was sad to see something was taking her babies. The last night I was there she had only four left.

I was told there were three left at the end. Hopefully they survived and I will see more black ducks and their ducklings on the lake the next time I visit the area.


Facts about the Black Duck;

The American black duck is a large dabbling duck in the family Anatidae. It was described by William Brewster in 1902. It is the heaviest species in the genus Anas, weighing 720–1,640 g on average and measuring 54–59 cm in length with a 88–95 cm wingspan. Wikipedia
Scientific name: Anas rubripes
Family: Anatidae
Kingdom: Animalia
Phylum: Chordata
Source




All photos are taken by me
All Rights Reserved unless with my permission

hive-106444 is set as 10% beneficiary on this post.

🦆🦆🦆


2B49B85BBB104059A5BA62E3302F27A0.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya


aisrfr.png
Banner created by @barbara-orenya


C8B9872F37224573B27FBEEAD57DB90A.jpeg

Sort:  

So sad that there are so many predators eating little ducklings. I understand it is the animal world but so heart wrenching to see such gorgeous little fluffy duckling becoming supper.

It was sad seeing the mother swim by the cottage each evening with a declining number of ducklings.

If only we could cage the duckling until they grow into adults, oh hum!

In the second photo you can clearly see how proud the mother duck is on her kids ☺️
I don't even want to imagine anything catching and eating such nice little things - so for me they all will survive and have their own little cute ducklings next year 😁


!ENGAGE 30
!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Yes the mother duck is proud of her kids. I don't know how many were born but there were eight when I first saw them and only four with her the last night I was there. The black ducks are always on the lake so hopefully many ducklings do survive.

Thanks dear Hannes for the reblog, generous tip and goodies.🤗🌟

I hope you are having a wonderful sunny Saturday. ☀️ We are having a beautiful day here and I was up to Mount Steward to see the beluga whale that came close in the water under the bridge in the community. I will write a post about it later.

The other ducklings are still sleeping, of course. I know that because my kids also sleep sometimes till the afternoon 😉

The weather seems to be beautiful all around at the moment. We are having a warm and sunny weekend, thank you so much, dear Jo 🤗

I'm looking forward to the post about the beluga whale 😃


!ENGAGE 30
Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@redheadpei! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (6/20)

Oh, poor ducklings. It is cruel world, but sadly nothing can be done.
Your photos are amazing, Jo.

Thanks Neli @nelinoeva. 🌸 It’s part of nature but so sad to see ducklings missing as time went on.

Lovely photos of the mommy duck and her ducklings Jo!! It is sad that she lost some of them but I really hope the last three make it! They are all so adorable and mommy duck looks so proud swimming by. I'm glad you were there and got to capture them in photos! 💕

Thanks so much Dee.🌸The ducks and loons are always a great attraction when I visit there. The loon was way out in the water and only had one baby left with her. I hope it survived. I love hearing the distinct cry of loons at night as they call to each other across the water.💕

You're welcome Jo!! I hope so too! I love hearing the different birds too but I'm not sure I've heard a Loon in person. I bet it sounds awesome! 💕

Thanks Jo!! That sounded pretty cool! I also wanted to let you know that I won't be around next week and won't have access to internet. 💕

Thanks for letting me know. Dee. Enjoy some time away from the internet.❤️

How nice they are really cute little Ducklings a great find @redheadpei 👍

Thanks @kohsamui99. The mother liked cruising the lake and showing her babies off.

Really nice so cute 😊

Always leaves one thinking about who the culprit is taking the young, part of life animals endure possibly breeding successfully soon again when everything waking up is not so hungry.

!LUV


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 59 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Thanks Pix!