Northern Flicker Pays A Visit

My entry to Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 81 is the Northern Flicker

Theme is

SHOW ME A PICTURE OF

A BIRD YOU HAVE IDENTIFIED



Hubby looked out the kitchen window and said,

“There’s an interesting looking bird outside on the tree at the edge of the lawn. It has a redhead but not the usual looking woodpecker.”

Once I got a closer look through the camera lens, I saw it was the elusive Northern Flicker with a it’s speckled pattern on the feathers. This one had a red marking on the back of the head shaped like a heart.





I couldn’t get any closer or any different positions~ as I mentioned this bird is elusive and seemed to know when I opened the door to photograph him. He stays around the yard but takes off quickly if he sees me.




The northern flicker (Colaptes auratus) is a medium-sized bird of the woodpecker family. It is native to most of North America, parts of Central America, Cuba, and the Cayman Islands.
Source

Some interesting spiritual meanings of seeing a Northern Flicker:

  • In Native American traditions, flickers are lucky birds associated with healing, medicine, and visitors. Additionally, the flicker’s plumage associates these birds with the sun.

  • In Celtic traditions, animals with red markings are seen as magical, otherworldly, and powerful
    Source



For more information on the contest, check @nelinoeva’s post Here.


10% of this post goes to @hive-106444 community


Sort:  

Amazing lovely bird Jo, I love the red head. We have little honey birds that also have red heads, probably the males. When I tried to take photos recently when walking but it would not settle for any length of time so gave up! I figure they not only see you but also sense us humans nearby.

Thanks Angie. It was the same with this bird. He had an uncanny sense about humans coming close.

Have a wonderful,day, my friend from the land of Oz. 😊

I have never seen one of these, they must be a northern bird.

Hi @myjob. These birds do migrate and go South in winter. They could possibility be in your area when cold weather comes here.

Have a wonderful week ahead, my friend, 😊

I need to pay closer attention, I know we get a whole slew of birds in the winter that are not here in the summer.

Oh, I love this red heart on the head. How cute is that. 🙂
It is a beauty, a real gem.

Thanks so much and for the points Neli @nelinoeva. It did seem magical. 😊

You are welcome!❤

Flickers are awesome...their call is fun.

Yes they are an awesome bird.

Have a great rest of the week. 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Much appreciated @ecency. 🤗

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 119 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thanks Pix!