Snooze You Lose: Peanut Wars

Always lots of Blue Jays around for #featheredfriends hosted by @melinda010100.

Blue Jay stops by for a peanut. Usually there is a contest between the squirrel and blue jay on who gets to the peanuts first.



AC3CB96C72CA4321B822EB09B1497429.jpeg



Blue Jay keeps an eye out from the barn roof.


A18E5D9DEEEA427489167AD60170AB8E.jpeg



The jay fills his mouth with as many peanuts as he can hold.


E870D0A3F6CB499FB39CF3C224951E3C.jpeg



To keep peace between the squirrel and the blue jay, I put a few peanuts on different railings on the back deck.

The squirrel is filling up and looking around to make sure the blue jay is not in sight.


541DCE30725A4CF392D5E27CDA79D965.jpeg



Such is a morning when peanuts are involved. They are an extra treat for the wildlife. Both the blue jay and squirrel are able to hold a lot of them in their mouth sacks to eat later.

location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Photos & Text @redheadpei All Rights Reserved without my permission.

🐧🐿🦅





C3D38B1FA17144FABA01572994FF3DA0.gif
Courtesy @zord189



Courtesy @derangedvisions


aisrfr.png

banner by @barbara-orenya



C8B9872F37224573B27FBEEAD57DB90A.jpeg</center

Sort:  

Lucky birds and squirrels! They have all the peanuts they could eat everyday!! I like peanuts too! But I don’t want to compete with the tiny birds and squirrels! Your peanuts must be much better than mine! LoL

They are spoiled @kaminchan. I buy the unsalted ones for the wildlife and salted peanuts for myself. 😀

Oh! I like both kinds! So, you could spoil me too! I just ran out of peanuts at home! Hahaha.

The best I can do from this distance is send you a photo. LOL
2AC26D8444594B6FBB64D54E0880CD57.jpeg

Hahaha. That’s great! It’s such a big can of nuts, this will last me the whole week! Thank you very much!
Your kindness is much appreciated. LoL

🌼🌺🙃

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 30 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
11

Thanks Pix. Always appreciated!❤️

How cute is that!! The way to get repeat visitors is to keep them happy!! I'm sure they are grateful for their daily dose of love from you.

Yes, it’s important to keep the little critters happy. 😀

I do love seeing the Blue Jays Jo! I will enjoy seeing yours all the way there on PEI though. No more peanuts from me .. at least not close to home. Love that sweet squirrel, terrific photos Jo! 🙂💖
tip

Thanks Dee. 💞 Mr. Squirrel is a cutie. It seems the blue jays are grateful I give them food and usually give me a nice "Jay, Jay" greeting when I step outside. They don't like other animals horning in on the food but eventually get along and every critter gets some.

Most welcome Jo! 💞

Awwww....you are so kind to all your fellow visitors how cute is that 👍

Thanks @bigsambucca. I try to look after the little critters that come by. ❤️

So cute i can imagine a squirrel eating peanuts but it always amazes me how a bird can chew and break down a hard peanut 🤣

Hi @kohsamui99. I think the birds swallow them whole. Seeing the blue jay up close he can gobble up the peanuts but it. Looks like he stores them in his cheeks like the chipmunks.

Damn they must have a great digestive system i would choke if i swallowed them whole 😰

I am amazed they can eat so many at once @kohsamui99. I think they can can regurgitate food. Maybe store it in their cheeks and eat it later.

Lol...that must be a uncomfortable feeling storing them in their cheeks i know it would be for me 🤣

Animals are such a delight Jo. 💜

i do get a lot of entertainment out of them Angie.

I bet the squirrel can hold more peanuts 😉

I have also seen a Blue Jay today - the first in weeks 😀

It's cool that you have such cool action around your house, Jo, hope you have a wonderful Sunday 🌞🤗


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Hi Hannes,😊

The squirrel probably would win. I didn’t realize the blue jays also can gobble up the peanuts and store them in their cheeks until I saw one clean up about 10 peanuts from the rail.

Only a couple blue jays hang around the yard in summer but in winter there are many more. They were even bomb-diving a young beautiful calico cat that was hanging around. The cat must be a stray as it ate the cat food I put out for it but was afraid. Not many strays cats come by but always some kind of wildlife going on!😀

Have a wonderful week dear Hannes.🤗

I didn't know that about Jays either.

I have seen your post about this little tri colored beauty. Hopefully she will trust you after a while ☺️

I wish you a wonderful week too, dear Jo 🌞🤗


Cheers and !BEER
!ENGAGE 30
!invest_vote

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.