Whiskers

Happy weekend Feathered Friends Fam!

I am starting to notice the whiskers on some birds that I didn't know were there. The official name for them is "rictal bristles". The Rictus is the gape of a bird’s mouth.
I have been trying to research what if any function these bristles have but it seems to remain uncertain.

IMG_0074.jpg

IMG_0078.jpg

IMG_0086.jpg

IMG_0068.jpg

IMG_0090.jpg

Hope you like the photos,

Stay Wild xxx

C3TZR1g81UNbFzApDTmvFYMje8p1iesaAcNjSh7JWYRuG23T5ZTTy9NVXGGgq4xDivGn7YkQvdjcePJa3f3cxhZstaVQAL4GZXKy5L9xMsf8YEuMipcrt4N.png

Sort:  

I have to admit I never noticed that before. Shows you the sweet quality of your bird shots! I can never get over how sharp you capture their eyes! Always amazed SB23!😊

Always grateful for your kindness OGP xx

These bristles are believed to channel insects into the mouth but there is yet to be proof of this. Wind tunnel experiments have demonstrated that these bristles protect the eyes from flying insects and other debris. That is all I could find, but, who knew they had such a name for whiskers? : ))

Yes there are a few theories out there

You could see such tiny things!! Wow! Very good eyesight! LoL

lol thank you!

Perfectly captued images in the wild again

I never knew the whiskers had a name! Great shots!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more