White Hawk. Leucopternis albicollis

Hi #featheredfriends fam!

This is a White Hawk. Leucopternis albicollis

Their domain stretches from Southern Mexico to Peru, Northern Bolivia and Eastern Brazil. These photos were taken by me in Costa Rica. I saw this beautiful bird come to land on the branch of a tree way off down in the jungle at the edge of the river. It is about 56cm in height and weighs around 725g!

I knew the photos would not be the clearest but it is SO EXCITING when you see a new bird for the first time, I just HAD to get the best pics I could.
Taken with my Canon Powershot SX60 HS on maximum zoom!

Screen Shot 20200713 at 15.51.59.png

Screen Shot 20200713 at 15.52.08.png

Screen Shot 20200713 at 15.52.17.png

Screen Shot 20200713 at 15.52.25.png

Screen Shot 20200713 at 15.52.42.png

Such a beautiful bird!

The balcony is such a great spot for nature watching. At eye level with all manner of wildlife!

A960131A4F644758A012ED690513A519.jpg

Have a great day everyone!

Stay Wild xxx

Sort:  

The Hawk is so beautiful and OH how nice to be in Costa Rica at such a cool place.

Thanks @sunscape isn’t it a beautiful bird!

It sure is a beauty Sallybeth.

Beautiful hawk. What i wouldn't give to sit on that balcony and just watch nature. Bet its perfect for a good book to read too

what beautiful pictures, I've never seen a white Hawk, we have red-tailed hawks and coooper's hawks in my area which I see on a regular basis. That porch is so inviting thank you for sharing.

Thanks very much, your hawks sound beautiful too.

Your photos of this magnificent bird are wonderful! I understand the excitement of seeing a new bird for the first time and expect many others here in Feathered Friends know that feeling of excitement, too! You balcony is marvelous! Thanks for posting to #featheredfriends!
!tip

Wow! This is a real treat! You can call birds to visit you!!

I wish I could call birds to visit, that would be super cool! haha

You could experiment! You never know!! Good vibes will attract birds.

🎁 Hi @sallybeth23! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Powering Up For Hivepud Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Submitted by #featheredfriends to the OCD Community Curation Program