Woodpeckers in Costa Rica

Hello #featheredfriends!

Here are a couple of different woodpeckers I photographed in Costa Rica. The first photo is a Lineated Woodpecker with its amazing red head! They always stand out so clearly in the green of the jungle. Unlike some birds who it can be really tricky to pinpoint amidst the mass of green.

Screen Shot 2020-07-13 at 15.25.45 2.png

This second one is a red crowned woodpecker though young and not yet in full red headed plumage!

Screen Shot 2020-07-13 at 15.44.45.png

I do love woodpeckers. I always run to find them when I hear that familiar tree tapping sound they always make!

Stay wild xxx

Sort:  

Hello @sallybeth23!

Lovely captures !
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @barbara-orenya from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Beauty in the forest!

Wonderful photos of these beauties! Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community
!tip

Thanks as always dear @melinda010100

Oh, I live them woodies too. You are like me, I run after them in the park though. 😀

Great to hear you are a fan too,. Xx

I love Woodpeckers also, that second Woodpecker looks similar to the Red-Belly Woodpecker who comes to visit me everyday.

Wow that’s great you get to see them every day.

I do I have 2 species that come to my house on a regular basis the Hairy Woodpecker and the Red-Belly Woodpecker they are fun to watch.

How wonderful!!

🎁 Hi @sallybeth23! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Feathered Friends Comment Contest-Round 13 Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.