Feathered Friday - Bird Finds of the Week

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Here are a few bird finds of the week for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p6106636_copy
The first find was a great egret (Ardea alba). I managed to catch it right when it snapped up a fish.

p6106628_copy
It took a while waiting for it to get in position to catch the fish.

p6106624_copy
I like taking pictures of cranes and egrets at this angle, they look hilarious like some sort of cotton ball with stick legs.

p6106666_copy
The robins are done raising their first batch of babies. This one was still hanging around its parent begging for food but I think it is about time for it to become independent.

p6106667_copy
I found an oriole nest with babies in it. I wasn't able to see the babies because of the high angle in the tree.

p6106669_copy
I'll have to keep an eye out on this nest especially when the babies start emerging.

p6106649_copy
Three juvenile great horned owls have emerged from their nest and are still hanging around together.

p6106650_copy
They are pretty shy but not quite as shy as adult great horned owls.

p6106652_copy
I tried to get closer but eventually it woke up and flew to another tree.

p6106661_copy
Here it is looking perturbed at me.

p6106663_copy
They were squawking at each other in the trees. I hope they hang around here for a while so I can get more photos, but I suspect they will move on to some more hidden forest.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Aaaw, all super nice. Was watching the birds too today. But non of these amazing animals showed up. Love the owls 🦉 they look always a bit grumpy and wise. hahahaha. love them for that.

I wish the owls weren't so skittish, the only owl I've been able to get close to for super clear pictures is the barred owl, all the rest like to take off once I get into descent range of them.

I only saw one time, on a journey, a white snow owl. This one was flying soooo close over the heads of the people, fantastico. It was the most beautiful one I ever saw 😍💖a snow white owl. Just beautiful. For sure you will get some gentle owls in front of your camera in future toooo. Looking forward to it. 📸👌🏼🎶🎶🎶🎶🎶

Aha you are lucky I've never seen a snowy owl, even though in the winter they do come around here. I think they like hanging around in the big open farm fields during winter so they can hunt stuff out in the open. But its hard to see them against the white snow.

Really? Maybe I was really lucky... Saw this beauty snowy owl i n a city... This is not so often than right? Your words sound more that they like it calm? Wowowowow. Now I appreciate this moment much more than before. First it was a super amazing moment to me, now it's a kind of destiny mysterious moment. Obrigada for that knowledge. I don't know much about the behavior of them. 💯💃💖🤗

People saw them in Chicago the city during the polar vortex it was a rare sight.

Happy #featheredfriday Nice captures of the young birds. Especially the owls. I really like owls. You have to be as patient as the egret waiting for a fish to catch a photo of an egret catching a fish lol

I hope to get more of that oriole nest. I've never seen a scruffy juvenile oriole before lol. Fortunately for the great egret I only had to wait around 3 minutes. I wish those owls weren't so skittish. I've seen many off in the distance they just won't sit for the photo.

Love the owls in the sunlight…. Beautiful. 🥰
Great captures! Especially the egret.
Sometimes it takes some waiting around 😉
Have a wonderful evening and weekend @sketch.and.jam 👋🏻☀️

I wish it was just a bit brighter but it was already evening so the low light introduced alot of grain into the photos of the owls.

Yes I saw, but still wonderful to see them 🥰😎
Have a great evening today 😁

The owls only like to appear in the darkness, I need to bring a floodlight out in the forest at night sometime.

I know it’s hard to photograph them.
Do you think you can capture the owls than? With the light.

It would be probably hit and miss, the light might end up scaring them away. But I might also be able to see the wild flying squirrels here that come out at night. They are super cute but I still haven't seen one yet. Basically a wild sugar glider that only comes out at night. 200351944_001_56a2bce85f9b58b7d0cdf813

That would be super cool when it works and you see any of them. Good luck when you go out one day with the light.
I can imagine some animals don’t like it.
Have a good evening.

Amazing place with so many birds!?

Yeah with tons of ducks too. p6166686

Wow! Those fat ducks!! They wouldn’t survive in the middle of my city! Poor people would make a meal of these!🙀

Haha and they are so tame too, you just go over and pick one up off the ground lol.

An egret sits on the back of Mable (the mule) until it sees lunch. I'll have to get a pic one of these days.
!PGM

Haha I'm surprised the mule lets it stand on her back.

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @operahoser, @sketch.and.jam

remaining commands 4

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks @ackhoo :-)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Cool you found the oriole's nest. :))

Fortunately I saw both the parents so the owls didn't eat the one I found last week.

Excellent observations and photos my friend👍 The heron is certainly a very beautiful and graceful bird. Well, young owls are beyond doubt the very charm, small breadies😊

I wish I had knows about the owls earlier, I think they have left the area for good now.

Owls out in daylight hours what a treat, great captures with babies around.

Great Egret with fish capture exceptional timing before that went down!

!BEER

I first noticed two of them perched on the bent branch out of the corner of my eye. Sadly the picture came out blurry because it was a bit too dark for my zoom lens. p6106642

Always feel annoyed when you realize your photo did not capture what the eye actually saw. Happens all too often when working with heavily shaded areas when camera does not find focus the way you want it to....


Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png