Feathered Friday - Birding by the Lake before Sunset

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Here are a few hot summer birds by the lake for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p8032087_copy.jpg
First up is a great white egret in flight. Sadly my camera did a bit of a poor job because of the dark tree background and movement of the bird.

p8032080_copy.jpg
I saw him from a distance and tried to sneak as close as possible for better shots.

p8032073_copy.jpg
fortunately there was a bush I could hide behind on the other side of the ditch and I was able to get some good shots.

p8032084_copy.jpg
Eventually he became too suspicious of me and flew off.

p8032091_copy.jpg
Just a bit farther down the lake path I saw a great blue heron.

p8032096_copy.jpg
Meanwhile on the lake a common tern was doing his rounds looking for fish to dive bomb from the air.

p8032069_copy.jpg
As the sun started going down I was able to get this edge lit robin.

p8032070_copy.jpg
He even did some bird yoga for interesting edge lighting on his wings.

p8032105_copy.jpg
I noticed three doves watching the sunset on this branch. These kind of look like common ground doves to me.

p8032059_copy.jpg
I heard a bit of buzzing and managed to locate this little hummingbird.

p8032060_copy.jpg
I have no idea on the ID as most of the bird guides show the male colors for hummingbirds. I suspect this is a female or possibly a juvenile.

p8032063_copy.jpg
As it started getting too dark out for my zoom lens I managed to get this shot of a downy woodpecker. Now birding is over and I turned my attention towards the sunset.

p8032145.jpg
Lots of nice summer sunset shots on this day out. Happy #featheredfriday :-)

Sort:  

oh my freind! @sketch.and.jam I don't think there's anything wrong with your camera shots and all those shots make me thirsty for a digital camera.

greetings hope you are always healthy there.

I use an olympus 5-510 with a 200mm zoom lens and an extension tube that works really well in bright light but in shade it gets pretty noisy.

Very interesting my friend, I don't have a digital camera yet.

I hope covid19 passes quickly and I can save money to get a camera like you. hehe

Just keep plugging away at crypto I suspect covid is endemic now like the seasonal flu. Eventually we'll just have to learn to live with it and take our zinc and vitamin d and get plenty of sunlight.

What lovely images. And the sunset is so beautiful. How stunning is nature not with her beautiful colors and the variety of birds! Thank you for sharing this beauty with us!

The prairie is amazing around sunset. I was hoping to see a coyote around sunset but no luck I just heard them in the distance.

What a beautiful sight that would have been! Maybe next time.

the low light shot of the flying egret is very interesting. there is a soothing feeling of flowing water to it

It looked so clear in the camera viewer when I took the shot. Sometimes when I leave the lens hood on in dark areas it causes the shutter to stay open too long.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!