Young Ducks at the Lake

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Here are a variety of young ducks at the lake.
p7091552_copy.jpg
The lake has many different aged ducks right now and they all seem to gather here during the evening.

p7091554_copy.jpg
This batch was the oldest and their feathers were mostly fully grown in.

p7091549_copy.jpg
Here they are from a different view. I suspect they are all part of the same family.

p7091551_copy.jpg
This shot shows some of their spotty feathers that aren't fully grown in yet. The males aren't fully teal headed yet.

p7071534_copy.jpg
Here is another group of young mallards. These guys aren't quite yet full size.

p7101564_copy.jpg
Here is a newly hatched batch feeding off algae in a shallow area of the lake.

p7141592_copy.jpg
I also noticed some medium sized wood ducklings. I didn't see their mother around but she might have been hiding in the weeds. Note how their eye stripe doesn't connect to their beak.

p7141586_copy.jpg
Hopefully these little guys aren't on their own at this age. They are still about halfway to full size.

p7071530_copy.jpg
On the bank of the lake I visited some of the almost fully grown Canadian Geese. This one still has about 15% more to grow and all its coloring has filled in. It still made whistling gosling sounds though probably hoping I was there to feed it. Once they become fully grown they start hissing at you instead.

p7071541_copy.jpg
Now I have become the observed. When I got home I felt something watching me and saw a little squirrel head high up on the building looking down at me.

Sort:  

Those are beautiful shots. They are having good time and enjoying themselves.

In the evening they make loud quacking noises too. It's a nice peaceful environment for them they have almost nothing to worry about, other than a hawk maybe. I saw him on the way to the lake with a big rat in his talons. p7091543.jpg

Oush, I just hope they will continue to have good time without the hawks interfering.

You can always tell a hawk or owl is nearby when you hear all the birds warning calls in one place. Even the squirrels have a warning call for them.

Haha, that's true!😄

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 18000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 19000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I also noticed a bunch of young mallards yesterday at the lake and we could notice the male feathers starting to color….😊

Probably by next week they will have their full colors in. I hope I can see the wood ducks grow into something colorful but they are very shy ducks and will probably move over to a secret lake somewhere.

They are very funny :)

Yeah especially at evening time when they quack really loud in unision.

Perfect picture

Evening colors look really nice on the lake.

Ducks make for a great post @sketch.and.jam, they are cute and full of character. But then come to think of it all animals are fun to photograph. I love your curious squirrel. We do not have these fun little creatures in Australia.

You have cuter possums there though, ours are a bit rat lookings.

Wonderful photos and observations! That squirrel shot is so cute.

He's quite the spy, there are two that hang around the condo and raid the dumpster when they can.

I have one that has made it his mission to dig in my flower pots and eat my Petunias. He has been chased away with a broom more than once!

They are a smart opponent, perhaps some kind of tricky obstacle course would keep him out of the petunias.

Great shots especially the close-up of the goose and the squirrel.:)

Soon the goose will be grown up and hissing at me.