Feathered Friends - Smap Round #68 - Female Birds

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

Every spring a few pairs of Hummingbirds return to our gardens to enjoy the flowers and nectar from our feeders. This is one of the older females who flies right up to me when I am sitting on my porch. She is a curious little bird always surveying the yard throughout the day. She especially likes to enjoy the tall, red Salvia I plant for them every year.

The Hummingbirds have already returned for another season and are nesting in shrubs close by. I can't wait for them to start bringing their babies to the feeders.

Female Ruby Throated Hummingbird


feathered-friends-female-hummingbird-sunscape.jpg

Thank you @melinda and @nelinoeva for this fun #smap contest. Have a great week everyone!

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

I had decided I wasn't going to put out a feeder for them this year, but they wouldn't leave me alone and I finally gave in and hung one out today. They found it immediately! That is a great photo. I only have ruby throated hummers here.

Hahaha, just when you think you're done with it and they tell you differently. I love it. Thanks, Melinda for making me smile this morning and I stand corrected as she is a ruby-throated one.

I always think how hard is to get the hummingbird in frame, wonderful shot!

Hummingbirds are fascinating birds and you have captured this gorgeous female perfectly, I love seeing her in motion!
Good luck with the contest:)

You beat me in posting hummingbird photos. Just took some photos this evening of a rascal hummer.

Well, I have to admit that the photo was an older one as mine this year is nesting and not coming to the feeder that much yet.

It has been cold here, delaying their return.