Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 145 ~ I'm glad I stopped.

While we were back in New Jersey for a quick weekend visit with our family

I spotted that little white dot that you see the arrow pointing at.
I was up early that morning and decided to take a ride
while the rest of the family was still fast asleep.
This body of water is just down the road from our son's house where we were staying. It's a very busy road, but being that it was early in the morning on a Sunday there was very little traffic.
I pulled off to the side of the road and got out of the car to take a better look. Luckily I had my camera with me and once I zoomed in, the little white dot took shape. What I had seen with the naked eye was a Swan.

right there (2).png

With the Swan being so far away, most of the initial pictures I took were not very good. Here are two of them.

IMG_5652.JPG

IMG_5660.JPG

Standing on the bank of the pond, the swan must have spotted me and I realized he was swimming my way.
IMG_5691.JPG

After a minute the swan had made its way across the pond and I was in for a treat. I guess the swan thought that I had something to feed it.

IMG_5724.JPG

At this point, the swan was within 10 feet of me and I snapped away, capturing the beauty of this bird close up.

IMG_5735.JPG

The sun glistened off of its pure white body as it moved in even closer.

IMG_5740.JPG

As the swan patiently waited for me to give it a treat, it gave me a stare that could kill.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (54).png

After a few minutes, the swan must have realized that my pockets were empty and it decided to swim back across the pond.

IMG_5748.JPG

As it got further away it took a peek over its shoulder, seeming to let me know that it was not happy to have swum across the body of water for nothing.

IMG_5750.JPG

@nelinoeva, @melinda010100, and @barbara-orenya are the ladies that are there every week for all of us #featheredfriends, thanks.

Sort:  

Honestly, I could miss that little spot so far away. 😀
Beautiful autumn scene and elegant swan, you captured them so nicely.

Now it reminds me to check if the swans have arrived on the beach like they do each year.

As I was driving past the pond, the scenery is what caught my eye. At the last second, I spotted that little white dot and turned around to take a closer look. I'm glad I did.
I don't see too many swans and that sighting was a real treat.
It must be nice knowing that these beautiful birds stop by for a visit every year.

What beautiful photos of this elegant bird!

Thanks @melinda010100, I snapped off quite a few shots and only used some of them in this post. Along with the pictures I included in this post there were other wonderful reflection pictures that I was thinking of putting into another post for the #shadowhunters community.
I've been a little reluctant to do this being that it's the same bird captured on the same day. @melinda010100 what is your opinion, all of the photos would be different?

I think that is perfectly acceptable! Mention you did a FF post with addition pictures of the same bird and give the link and send people to Feathered Friends in case anyone wants to go look! 💕

Thanks for the reply! What you suggest is a great idea, I'll feel comfortable doing the post now.

What a beautiful shot taken. It is nice you stopped, and you do have a sharp eye.

Thanks, It was a good thing it was early in the morning otherwise the traffic on that road would have made it impossible to pull over to the side of the road.

Have a splendid day!

Well, it sure was a beautiful thing, and I am glad you spread out the beauty, too 😘.

I will, and so should you.

We all need to do our part!

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

  • Upvote Suggested by @bhattg
  • Support back - Upvote this comment

Nice photographic essay!!! I was right there not feeding the swan with you. Good eye!

Thanks, this was the first time I've been in the position to photograph a swan and it was very exciting.

Wonderful photos! A colorful forest, and such an attractive elegant swan.👍

The setting was splendid and as I first drove past the pond, that is what caught my eye. I thought I had caught something out of the ordinary and turned around to take another look. That was when I pulled off to the side of the road and realized that the white dot was a swan.😁

Sorry but it made me laugh when I saw the killer look the swan gave you when it realized you wouldn't give treat😁♥️

I could feel its wrath. It was still nice that it gave me a treat by swimming right up close.

The swan is indeed a beautiful one
It looks very beautiful
I love the colour too

This swan was by itself when I usually see two. It must have been lonely.

The swan really look beautiful.
It has a beautiful view

The area around the pond, with the golden trees around the perimeter was splendid looking.

Oh my goodness, that swan certainly gave you a look! You did manage to capture him beautifully with the camera. We have about 40 swans that live on the bay about a mile from me. They are just so beautiful and very prolific with raising "many" young. lol

$0 swans, that must be a sight to see. Just coming across one was a sight to behold.

Fabulous photos and wow, I LOVE the narrative!
"After a minute the swan had made its way across the pond and I was in for a treat" - apparently because the swan was hoping for a treat, but you were empty-handed, and the gorgeous creature swims away ("This loser has nothing for me!"). Nothing but admiration, and now, great photos. :)

You're a funny girl.