Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 167

Because of what I happened to run into a week or so ago,
I was hoping for this week's #SMaP to be a FREE THEME, and what do you know, it is
.

While hobbitizing in our garden I noticed some activity in the Weeping Pussy Willow tree that is adjacent to the garden. A Robin had landed on the tree several times, reminding me that a nest was constructed in the same tree last year. I wondered if another pair of Robins had decided to do the same thing this year. As I approached the tree I could see a nest. Pushing some of the hanging branches aside revealed what I was hoping to see, beautiful baby blue eggs, four of them.

IMG_1364.JPG

As I made my way around the tree another nest came into sight.
I wondered if both nests could be cradling eggs.
Although the second nest looked like it had been built just recently, it was empty. I guess that the pair of Robins didn't like the first one and had decided to build a second one alongside the empty one.

IMG_1365.JPG

With the parents chirping away, I took another quick glance and went back to #gardening.

IMG_1362.JPG

Several days later I was hoping to see some hatchlings and what met my eyes was a ball of pink and white hair. This was the first time I had seen hatchlings in this state, making it impossible to distinguish one from another.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (97).png

Checking in on them two days later I was amazed to see such a big difference. Their wings were starting to take shape.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (98).png

Stopping in the following day I could see that the newborns were ready for mom and dad to return with some food. With one egg still intact, I wondered if this last egg would hatch.

Etsy Item Listing Photo (99).png

24 hours later the three little guys or gals seemed to be thriving.
Nothing compares to a good set of parents!

Etsy Item Listing Photo (100).png

My pointer finger was an inch from pushing the #publish button. Being that I had not checked on them in about 36 hours I'll be right back. Let's see how they're doing.
It's stunning how fast these little fellows develop.

IMG_1456.JPG

Meet the parents who were not too happy with me intruding on the nest. As they swooped above my head I thought it was a good time to leave them in peace.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-05-22T090843.222.png

Thank you @melinda010100 @barbara-orenya and @nelinoeva for another #featheredfriend adventure, SMaP #166.

Sort:  

Great photos! American Robins can live up to 17 years and often nest in the same place each year, so I wouldn't be surprised if your Robins return to the same tree. They have found a great place to raise their family!

17 years, I had no idea they lived that long. To think that robins come back to nest in the same place each year is amazing. To think that this bird can find the exact location where it nested the year before is unbelievable.

These pictures are very beautiful and have increased our knowledge very much about this bird which I didn't know anything about before.

Thank you, it took some doing to get the camera in a position to capture these pictures as there were so many branches that had to be gently moved out of the way.

Most welcome dear.

Wow, how quickly these babies grow. They look amazing and their parents are doing grear job.
Thank you very much for this wonderful post and entry!

It's always a pleasure to enter this contest and also see what other #featheredfriends have encountered from week to week.
I'll be keeping an eye on the nest and hope to watch them grow strong enough to fly off.

Congratulations and good luck to these new parents 😃

Thanks, it's not too often that one gets a chance to witness the entire process and be able to record it. With this tree being a miniature form of a Weeping Willow, the nest is only about five feet off of the ground.

Wow! So amazing Sir @thebigsweed it is my first time to see a Robin and it's blue eggs. I was so overwhelmed.

It was very cool to be able to locate this nest and be able to capture it on film. The blue eggs look like they have been painted.

Knowledge on which tree to look into, finding the nest plus an abandoned one what a beautiful sight to behold.

Turquoise eggs are stunning in colour, little balls are tiny, no time to linger must be flying soon, parents do a wonderful job raising their young.

Lucky to return unscathed I should imagine they would dive you to drive you away!

@tipu curate

I just happened to be in the garden and saw the robins fly into and out of the tree. I'll know to check out that tree every year now that @melinda010100 has informed me that Robins often will nest in the same location year after year.
When I first discovered the eggs, the parents weren't around, but once the eggs hatched I couldn't get within 10 feet and they were making a fuss.

Birds are very protective of their young, great set of photography!

Wow! Beautiful pictures and it's great that you've been able to document how those little robin babies are progressing.

It has been a blast. After my morning coffee I visit the garden and being that the nest is in the vicinity I take a quick peek to see how they are doing.

I've never seen blue eggs before! And they've grown fast!!! Sooo amazing 🤩

The rate at which these tiny birds mature is stunning and at this rate, I would imagine they will be flying off very soon.

These eggs look so unreal. They look like the ones made for the game Wingspan. Very cool shots!

The eggs are so perfect in shape and color they do seem unreal, almost like they have been dyed for Easter.

I imagine your face of joy @thebigsweed when you discovered the nest, the evolution of the photographs is beautiful

I was very excited and I'll continue to follow their progress, hoping to get some more pics.

Would you believe that I have never seen those blue eggs before?
It’s weird but I’m glad to see it for the first time

Always a joy to experience nature at its best.

What a nice post about the baby robins progress! I have 5 robin nests in the yard that I know of and none of them are accessible. So I will enjoy yours vicariously.