Feathered Friends - Show Me A Photo Contest Round 47

It's not too often that you see a bird like this in this neck of the woods. While making my way back from town, I spotted this guy out off the corner of my eye. I immediately made a u-turn, hoping he would still be there.
When I parked the truck and had a chance to get a better look at this fellow, I thought that it was a Blue Heron, but I knew that this was impossible as this is not their stomping ground.
Seeing this kind of bird for the first time was a treat, despite the fact that I was not sure what I was looking at.
This long legged fellow stayed put long enough for me to capture him on film.
Motionless, he stood in the shallows of the pond.
After a few minutes, he must have spotted what he was looking for, and like a lightning dart, he had plunged his beak into the water and came up with a large frog. I would have loved to have captured this on my camera, but in a split second his prize had disappeared from sight.

IMG_1443 (2).JPG
Here is the original picture of the bird in question.
Is it a stork, the kind that drops off a newborn baby when a family is blessed with a child?

IMG_1443.JPG

In this picture, I captured an Egret. The balance he exhibited while walking atop this bush was remarkable.

IMG_1522 (3).JPG

Here is the picture in color.

IMG_1522 (2).JPG

This picture was taken while we were celebrating our daughter's engagement. At first, I was not sure what I was looking at. The nest was the very first thing that caught my eye and only after a minute or so did I see the Barn Swallow sitting atop this very unique nest.
Despite the activity that was taking place all around this fellow, his attentiveness to what lay below his body never wained.
IMG_1462 (2).JPG

Original photo.

IMG_1462.JPG

Most of the pictures I take are taken in color, but after putting this #smap together I have come to realize the beauty that can be found in black and white photos!

Thanks to the #featheredfriends community I have become a bird lover and so enjoy seeing pictures of birds that I never even knew existed.

Much thanks to @nelinoeva, @melinda010100, @oks2crypto, and all those that have inspired me to appreciate our #feathered #friends.

Sort:  

Awesome captures, the Heron is not a Stork, !LOLZ you may get into trouble with either of these majestic big birds....

Egret is the ideal for black and white photography, simply exclusive looking bird.

Babies on the nest quite late into the season our little ones start at the beginning of Spring.

@tipu curate

Robin also thought that the black and white picture of the egret was cool.
I thought the same thing when I saw the swallow sitting on the nest, thinking it was very late for little ones to still be in their nest.
thanks for the tip my friend!

Keep having fun and sharing, birds were a little late, on the other hand they may be an active couple on second round in one season 🤣

OH NO!
You are out of jokes for the day!

@joanstewart you can call @lolzbot a maximum of 1 times per day.
Level up by buying more $LOLZ so you can share more jokes per day!

Oh dear, dry wit! No more today.... said the owl!
B_W-CapeEagleOwl.JPG

Very nice Sweed. Ain't it great when all it takes to get excited is a u-turn and a camera?

u-turn with the camera in hand and the subject still where it was before the three-point turn, winning combo for sure.
How have you been my friend?
I hope all is well with the luckiest guy I know and with the gal that has made this so.

Woke up in Nashville just now, Pura has another rendezvous at Vanderbilt this a.m. We have a Turkish restaurant we enjoy when we come here, dinner was delicious! Diseases on the other hand..

Not so much.

Much love Sweed, we think about you guys all the time.

With everything going on with Pura it's a good sign that you two are still able to hit the road now and then.

We go to Vanderbilt for treatment.

Good luck with all of that my friend.

You guys are in our daily discussions and our prayers!

It's always fun to see a bird you didn't know about before :) The egret is incredible!

So very true and being a member of the #featheredfriends community has given me the opportunity to see birds from all over the world.

That's one of the best things - we have a global community ❤️ I hope to see you in my Feathered Friends contest, by the way :)

!ALIVE

@thebigsweed! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you for the invite, I will be happy to look into this contest. Have a splendid day.

I am so happy you become a bird lover thanks to our community. 🙂
Lovely shots for this round. Black and white has its own charm. But the coloured photos are also great.
Thanks again for your entry!

Being retired has allowed me the time to enjoy things that in the past I just didn't see. It's hard to experience all of the little joys in daily life when your nose is always pressed to the grindstone.