Winter Birding

While I would prefer to be out in the woods hunting for mushrooms, the short days and freezing weather during the winter force me to stay barricaded indoors for most of the season. To make the rather desolate view from out by apartment window a little more bearable during these months, I put up a few bird feeders, a birdhouse, and plenty of seed and peanuts for the local birds. After only a few days, they had discovered my bounty, many of which have become regular visitors. One pair of blue jays in particular have taken up the habit of sitting on my windowsill cawing into my apartment whenever the stock of peanuts is running low.

During the last few months, I have had plenty of time to photograph these visitors, as well as a few predators watching on from afar. Below are some of my favorite shots from these last few months. I hope that you enjoy!

Bald Eagle (Haliaeetus leucocephalus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Cooper's Hawk (Accipiter cooperii):

image.png

Blue Jay (Cyanocitta cristata):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

House Sparrow (Passer domesticus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Tufted Titmouse (Baeolophus bicolor):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

House Finch (Haemorhous mexicanus):

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Dark-eyed Junco (Junco hyemalis):

image.png

image.png

image.png

Downy Woodpecker (Dryobates pubescens):

image.png

image.png

American Goldfinch (Spinus tristis):

image.png

image.png

Red-breasted Nuthatch (Sitta canadensis):

image.png

White-breasted Nuthatch (Sitta carolinensis):

image.png

My NFT Showroom gallery: https://nftshowroom.com/tych021/gallery

PeakD reflink: https://peakd.com/register?ref=tych021

Publish0x reflink: https://www.publish0x.com?a=M7e58kDYd2

Sort:  

oh wow...what a variety of guests !😊