Project Burner Pylon Animation

in Blender2 years ago

pylon_2.gif

I have been working with Blender for a couple weeks now, and the learning curve is still as steep as ever. I was unsatisfied with my concept sketch for the pylons to be featured in Project Burner, so I remade it with Blender.
rough_pylon_sketch.jpeg
In the Project Burner game, pylons take the place of potions, offering characters temporary buffs. This one is going to offer a small boost to maximum health for a few rounds, hence the health label around it. I made the model for the crystal myself, and colored it with purple base color then made it metallic. Making the "Health" text was much more complicated. I started with a cylinder, then removed the top and bottom faces, then added the UV map for texturing. I started with a texture I made in Gimp, then from that made an opacity map to specify which areas were transparent.
health.png

health_opacity_map.png

I then plugged the opacity map into the Alpha node in the shaders panel, and then changed the alpha settings to alpha clip. From there there was a bit of positional animation on the crystal, and a rotation animation on the health banner. Afterwards, I rendered as a transparent image sequence, and then add a green background in shotcut, then rendered as a gif animation. I know the gif format supports transparency, but I do not know how to render transparently in shotcut. I am slowly getting better at Blender. It is the most powerful tool I have ever used for visual arts, but it is also the most complicated. It does make for more appealing concept art though, and that is a big upside.

Sort:  

Congratulations @projectburner! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
The fourth edition of Hive Power Up Month started today. Don't miss it!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment !STOP below


Hey @projectburner, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.